U20 World Championship – Junior Boks Bullied By Argentina


Argentina dominated from the start to the end of the match to cruise to a five-try 31-12 win against a hapless Junior Springboks.

Argentina started like a house on fire and opened the scoring off the back of a five-meter lineout maul when ooker Juan Greising Revol scored to put Argentina in front with 07-00. Argentina's eightman, Juan Pedro Bernasconi, followed that up with their second try crashing over in the corner to extend their lead to 12-00 after eight minutes of play in the first half.

Although the Junior Springboks clawed their way back into the match as they did against Tonga, unfortunately, critical mistakes on the attack cost them critical possession and territory which helped Argentina to regain their earlier dominance.

With rain starting to pour down, Argentina once again gained several meters with their dominant mauls to score their second try by their hooker Juan Greising Revol to extend their lead to 17-00 after twenty minutes of play in the first half.

No points were scored during the second quarter, and the teams changed sides with Argentina still leading 17-00.

Argentina's dominance continued in the second half and despite sometimes desperate defence by the Junior Springboks, Argentina captain Efrain Elias crashed over the tryline to extend their lead to 24-00 and thirty minutes still to play in the second half.

Four minutes later the Junior Springboks were awarded a penalty try. Thereafter, despite the Junior Springboks' best efforts Argentina were happy to defend their lead until a Louis Koen kick was stormed down and Juan Penoucos scored Argentina's fifth try to lead 31-07 and ten minutes to play. A consolation try by Bathobele Hlekani for the Junior Springboks did not soften the 31-12 crushing loss.

Junior Sprinboks: Try: Penalty try, Bathobele Hlekani.
Argentina: Tries: Juan Greising Revol (2), Juan Pedro Bernasconi, Efrain Elias, Juan Penoucos. Conversions: Santino Di Lucca (3).

Junior Sprinboks: 15 Bruce Sherwood, 14 Joel Leotlela, 13 Jurenzo Julius, 12 Phillip-Albert van Niekerk, 11 Litelihle Bester, 10 Liam Koen, 9 Asad Moos, 8 Tiaan Jacobs, 7 Bathobele Hlekani, 6 Thabang Mphafi, 5 JF van Heerden, 4 Jaco Grobbelaar, 3 Zachary Porthen (c), 2 Luca Bakkes, 1 Ruan Swart. Replacements: 16 Ethan Bester, 17 Liyema Ntshanga, 18 Casper Badenhorst, 19 Thomas Dyer, 20 Keanu Coetsee, 21 Sibabalwe Mahashe, 22 Tylor Sefoor, 23 Joshua Boulle.

Argentina: 15 Benjamin Elizalde, 14 Timotea Silva, 13 Faustino Sanchez Valarolo, 12 Tomas Medina, 11 Franco Rossetto, 10 Santino Di Lucca, 9 Tomas Di Biase, 8 Juan Pedro Bernasconi, 7 Santos Fernansez de Oliveira, 6 Juan Penoucos, 5 Felipe Bruno, 4 Efrain Elias (c), 3 Tomas Rapetti, 2 Juan Greising Revol, 1 Diego Correa. Replacements: 16 Juan Manuel Vivas, 17 Joaquin Yakiche, 18 Gael Galvan, 19 Alvaro Garcia Iandolino, 20 Agustin Sareelli, 21 Jeronimo LLorens, 22 Facundo Rodriguez, 23 Felipe Ledesma.