U20 World Championship – Ireland Name Five Returning Players In Squad


Head coach Willie Faloon has named his 30-player Ireland Under-20 Men’s squad for the upcoming World Rugby Under-20 Championship in South Africa.

The global showpiece tournament for the Under-20 grade, taking place in the Cape Town region, runs over five match days from Saturday, June 29 to Friday, July 19.

Having led Ireland through the recent Under-20 Six Nations, Evan O’Connell has been named captain for the Championship, as Faloon’s side prepares to face Australia, Italy, and Georgia in Pool B.

O’Connell, Brian Gleeson, Danny Sheahan, Hugh Gavin, and Sam Berman are the five returning players from last year’s tournament when Ireland finished as runners-up behind France, while four players will make their debut in South Africa.

Speaking ahead of the squad’s departure for South Africa, Faloon said: “It is an exciting time for the squad as we prepare to depart for the World Rugby Under-20 Championship.

“It has been a competitive couple of weeks as the squad have pushed each other in preparation for the tournament, and we know we’ll need to grow and evolve as a team from the Six Nations for what will be a challenging couple of weeks against quality opposition in South Africa.”


Backs (13):

Oliver Coffey (Blackrock College RFC/Leinster)
Jack Murphy (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Hugo McLaughlin (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)
Hugh Gavin (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
Wilhelm de Klerk (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Finn Treacy (Galwegians RFC/Connacht)
Ben O’Connor (UCC RFC/Munster)
Tadhg Brophy (Naas RFC/Leinster)
Sean Naughton (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht)
Sam Berman (Terenure College RFC/Leinster)
Davy Colbert (Dublin University FC/Leinster)
Ruben Moloney (UCD RFC/Leinster) *
Jake O’Riordan (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster) *

Forwards (17):

Alex Usanov (Clontarf FC/Leinster)
Stephen Smyth (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
Patreece Bell (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)
Alan Spicer (UCD RFC/Leinster)
Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster) (capt)
James McKillop (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Max Flynn (Galway Corinthians RFC/Connacht) *
Brian Gleeson (Garryowen FC/Munster)
Emmet Calvey (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Danny Sheahan (Cork Constitution FC/Munster)
Jacob Boyd (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)
Billy Corrigan (Old Wesley RFC/Leinster)
Sean Edogbo (UCC RFC/Munster)
Bryn Ward (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)
Luke Murphy (Shannon RFC/Munster)
Mikey Yarr (Lansdowne FC/Leinster) *
Andrew Sparrow (UCD RFC/Leinster)

* Denotes uncapped player at Under-20 level