Xerox Lions u/21 Stroll Into SARU’s u/21 Championship Final

Photo Credit:

The Xerox Lions u/21 only needed one bonus point to book their place in the 2020 SARU u/21 Championship. The u/21 Xerox Lions eventually strolled into the final with 54-19 bonus point win after an initial 10 minutes of bruising rugby.

The first 10 minutes of the first quarter was a physical battle between the pack of forwards from both teams. The rest of the first quarter was an even affair with two converted penalties by the Lions the only difference between the two sides on the scoreboard.

The Lions scored two quick tries in ten minutes in the second quarter to give them a 20-0 lead. A massive scrum by WP gave them a penalty try as the Lions forwards crumbled under the pressure.

The Lions lead 23-7 at halftime with WP the stronger team upfront. The WP was their own worse enemy with poor decisions costing them scoring opportunities and penalties in the first half.

The Lions continued where they ended at the end of the first half and only needed two minutes to score their third try. The Lions made full use of the WP's mistakes at that stage and scored their fourth try to extend their lead to 35-07.

With 20 minutes to go Western Province made use of all of their substitutes and were still behind with 12-40. The game at this stage very loose and lost most of its structure. The Lions not happy to defend the score continue to add more points to their score and ended with seven tries and won 54-19.

Xerox Lions u/21: Tries: Asenathi Ntlabakanye, Franke Horn (2), Ngia Selengbe, Runaldo Pedro (2), Emmanuel Tshituka. Conversions: Luke Rossouw (5). Penalty: Luke Rossouw (3).
DHL WP: Tries: Penalty try, Jarrod Taylor, Marcel Theunissen. Conversion: Christopher Schreuder.

DHL WP U21: 15 Juan Mostert, 14 Chris Grobbelaar, 13 Mnombo Zwelendaba, 12 Waqar Solaan, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Christopher Schreuder, 9 Dylan Alexander, 8 Jarrod Taylor, 7 Marcel Theunissen (captain), 6 Thys Kitshoff, 5 Dylan de Leeuw, 4 Simon Miller, 3 Dandre Degenaar, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Dian Bleuler. Replacements: 16 JJ Kotze, 17 Rynhardt Rijnsburger, 18 Joshua Muller, 19 Xavier Haupt, 20 Tyrone Maritz, 21 Liam Kloosman, 22 Brendan Venter, 23 Keenan Williams.

Xerox Lions U21: 15. Shaun Baxter, 14. Quan Horn, 13. James Mollentze, 12. Luke Rossouw, 11. Ngia Selengbe, 10. Marc Morisson, 9. Runaldo Pedro, 8. Travis Gordon (c), 7. Sibusiso Sangweni, 6. Mark Snyman, 5. Cal Smid, 4. Emmanuel Tshituka, 3. Asenathi Ntlabakanye, 2. Dameon Venter, 1. Nkosi Masuku. Replacements: 16. Darnell Osowagu, 17. Ebot Buma, 18. Herman Aggenbah, 19. Mandisi Mthiyane, 20. Franke Horn, 21. Hlumelo Ndudula, 22. Jordan Hendrikse, 23. Boitumelo Tsatsane, 24. Tyler Bocks, 25. Lindo Ncusane, 26. Junior White.