Windhoek Draught Griquas Cruise To A Comfortable Win Against NovaVit Griffons


Windhoek Draught Griquas travelled to Welkom on Saturday and secured a 47-21 win against the NovaVit Griffons, earning five valuable log points.

The NovaVit Griffons had a good start to the game and scored two early tries, however, the Windhoek Draught Griquas pulled together nicely and responded well with four tries of their own to lead 28-14 at the halftime break.

Windhoek Draught Griquas continued their dominance in the second half and apart from the first try of the half from NovaVit Griffons the visitors held onto their lead to comfortably win 47-21. The Griffons seemed to have run out of steam towards the end of the game.

NovaVit Griffons started like a house on fire and scored two tries within the first ten minutes of the match to lead 14-00.

Johan Muller was the reply to the first two tries of NovaVit Griffons after just fourteen minutes of play. The Windhoek Draught Griquas' Carl Els scored their second try and equaliser after twenty minutes of play.

With the momentum now completely with the Windhoek Draught Griquas it is centre Jay-Cee Nel that scored the third try for the visitors.

The last fifteen minutes of the first half were dominated by Windhoek Draught Griquas. Lubabalo Dobela scored the visitors' fourth and bonus point try to go into the second half with a 28-14 lead.

As with the start of the first half, the NovaVit Griffons scored the first try of the half after five minutes of play, however, the visitors continue to dominate when Carl Els bulldozed his way over the tryline for his second try of the match to extend their lead to 33-21 with twenty minutes to play.

The try of Els was followed by a try by Ashlon Davids to extend their lead to 40-21 with fifteen minutes to play.

Sango Xamlashe scored the visitors' seventh try to secure a 47-21 win for Windhoek Draught Griquas.


NovaVit Griffons: 15 Duren Hoffman, 14 Granwill Matthys, 13 Keanu Vers, 12 Carel-Jan Coetzee, 11 Domenic Smit, 10 Duan Pretorius, 9 Jaywinn Juries , 8 Jean Pretorius, 7 Thomas Ongera, 6 Thato Mavundla, 5 Michael Benadie, 4 Rian Olivier, 3 Doctor Booysen, 2 Hendrik van Schoor, 1 Stephan de Jager. Replacements: 16 Chadley Wenn, 17 Xolani Jacobs, 18 Buhle Nojekwa, 19 Wikus Nieuwenhuis, 20 Curtly Thomas, 21 Sokuphumla Xakalashe, 22 Jandre De Beer, 23 Randy Fielies,

Windhoek Draught Griquas: 15 Ashlon Davids, 14 Rosko Specman, 13 Jay-Cee Nel, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Luther Obi, 10 Lubabalo Dobela, 9 Johan Mulder, 8 Carl Els, 7 Hanru Sirgel (c), 6 Thabo Ndimande, 5 Derik Pretorius, 4 Dylan Sjöblom, 3 Justin Forwood, 2 Sean Swart, 1 Kudzwai Dube. Replacements: 16 Gustav du Rand, 17 Eddie Davids, 18 Cebo Dlamini, 19 Johan Retief, 20 Stephan Smit, 21 Reagan Oranje, 22 George Whitehead, 23 Sango Xamlashe.