Wes Goosen To Play 50th Game Against The Chiefs

The Hurricanes have made several changes to their starting lineup for Saturday's round nine Super Rugby Aotearoa fixture against the Chiefs at the Sky Stadium in Wellington 09:05 SA time. The Hurricanes come off a bye last weekend and are currently placed third on the Super Rugby Aotearoa log.

Wes Goosen will bring up 50 games for the Hurricanes when he runs out against the Chiefs at Sky Stadium this Saturday. The winger has been with the Wellington-based side since 2016 when he debuted against the Reds in Wellington.

Since then, the 24-year-old has gone onto score 22 tries for the side, two of which were during the 34 – 32 win against the Crusaders in Christchurch two weeks ago.

This Saturday is the Hurricanes’ penultimate game of 2020, and their final home game of Investec Super Rugby Aotearoa.

Dane Coles returns to the number 2 jersey having recovered from a minor back twinge, with the powerful Asafo Aumua on the bench. Tyrel Lomax also returns to action after he too sat the last game out with an injury.

There are some notable changes to the backline also. 

Vince Aso starts at inside centre, with Ngani Laumape forced to sit the rest of the competition out with a broken arm.

Kobus Van Wyk gets the nod for a spot on the wing, following Ben Lam’s departure for France whilst Peter Umaga-Jensen gets his fourth start this year in the midfield after his superb performance against the Crusaders two weeks ago.

There’s plenty of depth on the bench, with halfback Jamie Booth set to provide an impact along with Devan Flanders, Pouri Rakete-Stones and Billy Proctor to name a few. Kane Le’aupepe returns to the 23 for the first time in 2020 after a long break through injury.

The Hurricanes have hosted the Chiefs 19 times at Sky Stadium and won on 13 occasions.

Hurricanes: 1. Ben May, 2. Dane Coles [cc], 3. Tyrel Lomax, 4. James Blackwell, 5. Scott Scrafton, 6. Reed Prinsep, 7. Du’Plessis Kirifi, 8. Ardie Savea, 9. TJ Perenara [cc], 10. Jackson Garden-Bachop, 11. Wes Goosen, 12. Vince Aso, 13. Peter Umaga-Jensen, 14. Kobus Van Wyk, 15. Jordie Barrett. Replacements: 16. Asafo Aumua, 17. Tevita Mafileo, 18. Pouri Rakete-Stones, 19. Kane Le’aupepe, 20. Devan Flanders, 21. Jamie Booth, 22. Billy Proctor, 23. Jonah Lowe.