We Select Our South African URC Team Of The Week


It was very clear from the teams received from our friends that provincial bias played a big role in the teams forwarded. However, with the close results of the weekend, it was no surprise.

It was also very evident that most of our "selectors" preferred the more attacking mindset of players and were extremely "forgiving" for mistakes made on defence. Also very noticeable is the move to big physical players at the back with the exciting pocket rockets did not get much attention.

The Cell C Sharks registered a 47-37 win against the Emirates Lions in Johannesburg, outscoring the hosts by six tries to five, which included a hat-trick by Springbok flyer Makazole Mapimpi, while a try in the closing minutes by DHL Stormers’ replacement scrumhalf Paul de Wet sealed a 30-26 victory for the Capetonians against the Vodacom Bulls in Pretoria, where flyhalf Manie Libbok’s goal kicking proved to be the difference on the scoreboard.

The Vodacom Bulls, Cell C Sharks and DHL Stormers have four players in our lineup while the Lions have only three players.

The Sharks' fantastic display of attacking rugby from their backs resulted in four from the back five are from the Sharks.

Manie Libbok performance was criticized for his failed attempts on the attack, however, his successful attempts guaranteed his selection.

Upfront our selectors surprisingly preferred the hard men of rugby. Elrich Louw's hard as nails performance deservedly gave him the nod at eightman. Jaco Kriel was "lucky" to be included taking Deon Fourie's performance into account.

Marvin Orie at the Stormers is growing in leaps and bounds. His physicality against the Bulls was impressive, to say the least.

Our front row must be the best in South Africa currently with Thomas du Toit maybe unlucky not to be included ahead of Carlu Sadie.

South African URC Team of the Week:  15. Aphelele Fassi (Sharks), 14. Madosh Tambwe (Bulls), 13. Lukhanyo Amm (Sharks), 12 Ben Tapuai (Sharks), 11. Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), 10. Manie Libbok (Stormers), 9. Andre Warner (Lions), 8. Elrich Louw (Bulls), 7. Ernst van Rhyn (Stormers), 6. Jaco Kriel (Lions), 5. Marvin Orie (Stormers), 4. Walt Steenkamp (Bulls), Carlu Sadie (Lions), 2. Johan Grobbelaar (Bulls), 1. Steven Kitshoff (Stormers).