Waratahs Name Largely Unchanged Side To Take On The Reds


The Waratahs will host the Reds on Saturday at the Sydney Cricket Ground, 11:15 SA time. Rob Penney has named a largely unchanged starting lineup to take on the Reds for the second time in the Super Rugby AU season. The Reds won the first game in round one 32-26. The Waratahs comes off a bye last weekend and are currently fourth on the log after one win from four games played.

Rob Simmons has been named to play despite suffering a rib injury last start against the Rebels. The skipper will be given every opportunity to prove his fitness, with Jed Holloway named as a cover on the bench.

Jake Gordon returns to the starting side after making a successful return to play form the bench in Round 4. He'll be joined by Lalakai Foketi who also returns, replacing Joey Walton at outside centre.

Angus Bell has been named as a replacement following his recovery from a back complaint, while Hugh Sinclair will make his first appearance for the Tahs after an extended injury lay-off.

Waratahs: 1. Tom Roberton, 2. Tom Horton, 3. Harry Johnson-Holmes, 4. Ned Hanigan, 5. Rob Simmons (C), 6. Lachlan Swinton, 7. Michael Hooper, 8. Jack Dempsey, 9. Jake Gordon, 10. Will Harrison, 11. Alex Newsome (VC), 12. Karmichael Hunt, 13. Lalajai Foketi, 14. James Ramm, 15. Jack Maddocks. Replacements: 16. Andrew Tuala, 17. Angus Bell, 18. Tetera Faulkner, 19. Tom Staniforth/Jed Holloway, 20. Hugh Sinclair, 21. Mitch Short, 22. Joey Walton. 23. Ben Donaldson.