Waratahs Gives Title Hope Huge Boost After Brilliant Display Against Reds

The Waratahs sent a message to the other franchises in the Super Rugby Aotearoa AU competition that they will be a serious contender after humiliating the Reds with 45-5 in Sydney. With this win, the Waratahs have 11 points on the competition log and moved to third place on the log. 

The Waratahs made the perfect start to their game against the Reds as the first converted a penalty and then scored a great try to lead 10-0 after just ten minutes of the first half. A second try by scrumhalf Jake Gordon gave the Waratahs a lead of 17-0 after the first quarter.

The second quarter became a never-ending nightmare for the Reds as the Waratahs just continue to score. At the halftime break, the Waratahs lead 38-0 and are seemingly on course for a record-breaking win.

Heavy rain in Sydney spoiled most of th second before the Waratahs struck with their sixth try. The Reds scored their first points of the game in an unconverted try with 25 minutes to go in the second half. At the end of the third quarter, the attacks by the Reds a bit halfheartedly while the Waratahs were happy to kick and defend their lead. Score at the end of the third quarter was 45-5 with the Waratahs leading.

The Reds scored a consolation try with time already up on the stadium clock. A rain spoilt second half won by the Reds 12-7 but the Waratahs did more than enough to win 45-12

The Waratahs will play the Western Force while the Reds' opponents are the Rebels.


Waratahs: Tries: Jake Gordon (3), Jack Maddocks, Alex Newsome, Tom Horton. Conversions: Will Harrison (5), Ben Donaldson. Penalty: Will Harrison

Reds: Try: Jack Hardy, James O'Connor. Conversion: James O'Connor.

Waratahs: 1. Tom Roberton, 2. Tom Horton, 3. Harry Johnson-Holmes, 4. Ned Hanigan, 5. Rob Simmons (C), 6. Lachlan Swinton, 7. Michael Hooper, 8. Jack Dempsey, 9. Jake Gordon, 10. Will Harrison, 11. Alex Newsome (VC), 12. Karmichael Hunt, 13. Lalajai Foketi, 14. James Ramm, 15. Jack Maddocks. Replacements: 16. Andrew Tuala, 17. Angus Bell, 18. Tetera Faulkner, 19. Tom Staniforth/Jed Holloway, 20. Hugh Sinclair, 21. Mitch Short, 22. Joey Walton. 23. Ben Donaldson.

Reds: 1. Dane Zander, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 3. Taniela Tupou, 4. Angus Blyth, 5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 6. Angus Scott-Young, 7. Liam Wright (c), 8. Harry Wilson, 9. Scott Malolua, 10. James O’Connor, 11. Filipo Daugunu, 12. Hamish Stewart, 13. Hunter Paisami, 14. Jock Campbell, 15. Bryce Hegarty. Replacements: 16. Alex Mafi, 17. Jack Straker, 18. Zane Nonggorr, 19. Tuaina Taii Tualima, 20. Fraser McReight, 21. Tate McDermott, 22. Jack Hardy, 23. Josh Flook.