Wales Team To Face Italy Announced


Wales have named their side to take on Italy in their final Autumn Nations Cup fixture in Llanelli on Saturday. 

Nicky Smith, Sam Parry and Tomas Francis comprise the front-row, with Parry making his first start for Wales after three appearances from the bench.

Will Rowlands partners Alun Wyn Jones in the second-row with James Botham lining up alongside British & Irish Lions duo Justin Tipuric and Taulupe Faletau in the back-row.

Kieran Hardy and Callum Sheedy start at half-back together for the second time this campaign with Johnny Williams partnering George North in the midfield. North’s last start at the centre was Wales’ 42-0 victory over Italy in the Guinness Six Nations earlier this year.

Louis Rees-Zammit, Josh Adams and Liam Williams comprise the back-three.

“Saturday is another opportunity for these players and for us, as a squad, it is another opportunity to continue to build and to see the results of all the hard work in training,” said head coach Wayne Pivac.

“We have blooded eight new caps this campaign and importantly by the end of the match, each of them would have had a number of appearances to their name.

“From the outset we wanted this campaign to be about giving players an opportunity and we have done that.

“The hard work in training is coming through and we want to show that again on Saturday and finish the campaign on a high, with the performance and result we want.”

On the bench Elliot Dee, Wyn Jones and Leon Brown provide the front-row cover. Cory Hill and Aaron Wainwright complete the forward contingent. Gareth Davies, Ioan Lloyd and Jonah Holmes are named as the backline replacements.

Wales Team: 1. Nicky Smith, 2. Sam Parry, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Will Rowlands, 5. Alun Wyn Jones (Capt), 6. James Botham, 7. Justin Tipuric, 8. Taulupe Faletau, 9. Kieran Hardy, 10. Callum Sheedy, 11. Louis Rees-Zammit, 12. Johnny Williams, 13. George North, 14. Josh Adams, 15. Liam Williams. Replacements: 16. Elliot Dee, 17. Wyn Jones, 18. Leon Brown, 19. Cory Hill, 20. Aaron Wainwright, 21. Gareth Davies, 22. Ioan Lloyd, 23. Jonah Holmes.