Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked Fixtures Announced


The domestic rugby season will burst back into life with seven weeks of high-calibre local rugby as Vodacom Super Rugby returns – Unlocked!

The competition went into lockdown with the rest of South Africa at the end of March but returns with three added teams and a chase to a unique finale in November.

The four, existing Vodacom Super Rugby teams – Vodacom Bulls, Emirates Lions, Cell C Sharks and DHL Stormers – have been joined by the Toyota Cheetahs, Phakisa Pumas and Tafel Lager Griquas, with all 21 matches broadcast live on SuperSport.

The season will resume at 19h00 on Friday, 9 October when the Cell C Sharks take on the Emirates Lions in Durban while the following day the Toyota Cheetahs and Vodacom Bulls will host the Phakisa Pumas (at 16h30), and Tafel Lager Griquas (19h00) respectively.

The DHL Stormers have a bye in the opening round, but they will host the Emirates Lions the following week, when the men from Johannesburg will face the Capetonians at DHL Newlands on Saturday 17 October at 19h00.

“We’d like to thank all our stakeholders in getting to this point,” said Jurie Roux, SA Rugby CEO.

“It has been an extremely trying time but thanks to Vodacom, SuperSport and the seven teams involved we are able to resume rugby with a really exciting series of matches featuring the best players in the country.

“We have had to make some major format changes and look at creative ways to look after everyone’s needs but we think between now and the end of the season – which will only be in January next year – we will provide rugby and entertainment to excite the fans once more.”

Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked concludes on the weekend of 20/21 November, with matches in Pretoria (Vodacom Bulls v Phakisa Pumas – Friday 20 November at 19h00), Bloemfontein (Toyota Cheetahs v Tafel Lager Griquas – Saturday 21 November at 16h30) and Durban (Cell C Sharks v DHL Stormers – Saturday 21 November at 19h00).

The team at the top of the standings at this stage of the season will be crowned Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked champions, after which all log points will be transferred to the Currie Cup (fixtures to be announced in due course).


Round 1

09/10/2020 - Sharks vs Lions (Jonsson Kings Park, Durban 19:00)
10/10/2020 -  Cheetahs vs Pumas (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein 16:30)
10/10/2020 -  Bulls vs Griquas (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:00)

Round 2

16/10/2020 - Cheetahs vs Bulls (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein 19:00)
17/10/2020 -  Griquas vs Pumas (Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley 16:30)
17/10/2020 - Stormers vs Lions (DHL Newlands, Cape Town 19:00)

Round 3

23/10/2020 -  Pumas vs Stormers (‎Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit 19:00)
24/10/2020 - Lions vs Cheetahs (Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg 16:30)
24/10/2020 -  Bulls vs Sharks (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:00)

Round 4 

30/10/2020 - Lions vs Griquas (Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg 19:00) 
31/10/2020 - Pumas vs Sharks  ‎(Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit 16:30)
31/10/2020 -  Bulls vs Stormers (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:00)

Round 5

06/11/2020 - Sharks vs Cheetahs (Jonsson Kings Park, Durban 19:00)
07/11/2020 -Griquas vs Stormers (Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley 16:30) 
07/11/2020 - Lions vs Bulls (Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg 19:00) 

Round 6

13/11/2020 - Griquas vs Sharks (Tafel Lager Park, Kimberley 19:00) 
14/11/2020 - Lions vs Pumas (Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg 16:30)
14/11/2020 - Stormers Cheetahs (DHL Newlands, Cape Town 19:00)

Round 7

20/11/2020 - Bulls vs Pumas (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 19:00) 
21/11/2020 - Cheetahs vs Griquas (Toyota Stadium, Bloemfontein 16:30) 
21/11/2020 - Sharks vs Stormers (Jonsson Kings Park, Durban 19:00) 

Recent Posts