Vodacom Bulls u/20 Off To A Great Start Against Leopards u/20


The Vodacom Bulls u/20 side got their SA Rugby u/20 Cup campaign off to a good start after powering their way to a 74-28 win over the Leopards u/20's at Loftus B-field on Friday.

Following a warm start in the heat of Pretoria, it was the home side that opened the scoring in the 2022 season-opening game before dominating proceedings in the first half, scoring eight tries to a solitary five-pointer by the visitors to enjoy a 50-7 lead at the break.

The Leopards u/20 showed great fighting spirit in the second half both on attack and in defence, helped on by the overeagerness of the Bulls side who dismissed almost all of their game plan in order to spread up the game and overrun their visitors.

The Leopards scored some scintillating tries as the Bulls lost control of the match.

The Vodacom Bulls u/20 also did not rest on their laurels but continued to forge forward, adding a further four tries in the second half.

Winger Quewin Nortje led the scorers’ sheet with a hattrick of tries, while captain Eric Basson and prop Juann Else added two tries each.

Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Juan Else (2), Tiaan Lange, Eric Basson (2), Compion von Ludwig, Quewin Nortje (3), Sonwabo Sokoyi, Franco Knoetze, Moemagare Mohlodi. Conversions: Tiaan Fourie (3), Compion Von Ludwig (3), Sonwabo Sokoyi.
Leopards: Tries: Daniel Theron, Brandon Beukes, Jakkie Eloff, Riego Heath. Replacements: Rehan le Maitre (3), Christiaan Gates.


Vodacom Bulls u/20: 15. Franco Knoetze, 14. Katlego Letebele, 13. Sonwabo Sokoyi, 12. Carlton Bannies, 11. Quewin Nortje, 10. Compion von Ludwig, 9. Tiaan Fourie, 8. Cameron Hanekom, 7. Eric Basson (c), 6. Gcinokuhle Mdletshe, 5. Ruan Delport, 4. Merwe Olivier, 3. Tielman Nieuwoudt, 2. Tiaan Lange, 1. Juann Else. Replacements: 16. Johan Lombaard, 17. Nazier Nizaar, 18. Johan Louw, 19. Ghudian van Rheenan, 20. Abulele Ndabambi, 21. Rowan Cloete, 22. Moemagare Mohlodi, 23. Munashe Dukuswa, 24. Rynard Mouton, 25. Willie Potgieter, 26. Gert Steyn.

Leopards: 15. Luan van der Walt, 14. Sean Roulston, 13. Christiaan Vlok, 12. Riego Heath, 11. Simuthembile Ntleki, 10. Christiaan Gates, 9. Marquin Uren, 8.Tsimolle Mogale, 7. Jakkie Eloff,6. Hennie du Rand,5. Casper Steenkamp, 4. Tian van Zyl, 3. Stefan Liebenberg, 2. Brandon Beukes, 1. Daniel Theron. Replacements: 16. A Apollis, 17. M Diop, 18. P de Villiers, 19. V Adshade, 20. D Oosthuizen, 21. M Uren, 22. C Gates, 23. N Liversage.