Vodacom Bulls Run Riot Against Zebre Parma


Canan Moodie scored a hat-trick as the Vodacom Bulls claimed an important 78-12 bonus-point win (half-time 36-05) against Zebre Parma in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Vodacom Bulls enjoyed the perfect start when Moodie chased down a kick by Springbok teammate Kurt-Lee Arendse in the third minute. The Vodacom Bulls added a second try after scrumhalf Embrose Papier finished off a counterattack that originated deep within the hosts’ territory.

Zebre responded via fullback Richard Kriel – a former Vodacom Bulls player – who scored in the right-hand corner. The visitors competed well at the scrums and breakdowns during this period but struggled to match the Vodacom Bulls at the lineouts and in the air.

A well-aimed kick by wing David Kriel culminated in a second try for Papier, who showed good pace and determination to beat the cover defence to the bouncing ball. The Vodacom Bulls secured the bonus point for the fourth try when Moodie took a short pass from Johan Goosen and crossed the line in the 30th minute.

A further try by lock Ruan Vermaak as well as a couple of accurate goal-kicks by Goosen ensured that the Northern Gautengers went to the break with a commanding 36-5 lead.

The hosts lifted the tempo after half-time, with the forwards as well as backs showing plenty of intent to keep the ball alive. Loosehead prop Gerhard Steenekamp scored a memorable try after taking a pass from front-row teammate Johan Grobbelaar.

Zebre were reduced to 14 men thereafter but scored next through replacement Chris Cook. The Vodacom Bulls regained control almost immediately, with Vermaak crashing over for his second try of the afternoon.

Moodie completed his hat-trick when he beat the defence in the 64th minute. Additional scores by Marco van Staden, Bismarck du Plessis and Chris Smith boosted the remarkable try-tally to 11.

Having secured five log points from the fixture, the Vodacom Bulls have boosted their playoff hopes, and strengthened their bid for a place in next season’s Heineken Champions Cup. They have also ended their a four-match losing streak in the Vodacom URC.


Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Canan Moodie (3), Embrose Papier (2), Ruan Vermaak (2), Gerhard Steenekamp, Marco van Staden, Bismarck du Plessis, Chris Smith. Conversions: Johan Goosen (10). Penalty: Johan Goosen.
Zebre Parma: Tries: Richard Kriel, Chris Cook. Conversion: Tiff Eden.


Vodacom Bulls: 15 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 14 Canan Moodie, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 David Kriel, 10 Johan Goosen 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (c), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp. Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Janko Swanepoel, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Cornal Hendricks.

Zebre Parma: 15 Richard Kriel, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Erich Cronjé, 12 Enrico Lucchin, 11 Simone Gesi, 10 Geronimo Prisciantelli, 9 Alessandro Fusco, 8 Davide Ruggeri, 7 Iacopo Bianchi, 6 Guido Volpi, 5 Leonard Krumov, 4 David Sisi (c), 3 Matteo Nocera, 2 Jacques Du Toit, 1 Paolo Buonfiglio. Replacements: 16 Luca Bigi, 17 Alessio Sanavia, 18 Muhamed Hasa, 19 Andrea Zambonin, 20 Giacomo Ferrari, 21 Chris Cook, 22 Tiff Eden, 23 Jacopo Trulla.