Vodacom Bulls Change Four For Trip To Bloemfontein


The Vodacom Bulls travel to Bloemfontein to take on the Toyota Cheetahs as the men from the highveld look to snatch a spot in the finals of the 2023 Currie Cup campaign on Saturday a 15h00.

The two teams met a week earlier in what was a feisty encounter at Loftus Versfeld Stadium and rugby fans will be treated to another tantalising serving this weekend, at the Toyota Stadium.

Director of Rugby, Jake White has made four changes to his matchday 23 with Johan Grobbelaar, WJ Steenkamp, Bernard van der Linde and Sibongile Novuka all being rotated.

Grobbelaar comes into starting xv, slotting into the front row as one of only two changes to an otherwise unchanged forward pack. The other change to the men in front is Nizaam Carr starting at the open-side flank. Last week’s starter, Jan-Hendrik Wessels shift to the impact squad where Steenkamp, van der Linde and Novuka will all look to get a run from.

At the back, the only changes are that of Keagan Johannes and Chris Smith. Johannes starts at scrum-half with Embrose Papier missing out due to a hamstring niggle, whilst Smith slots into fly-half. The rest of the backline remains unchanged.

Vodacom Bulls: 1. Gerhard Steenekamp (Naka Bulle), 2. Johan Grobbelaar (UP Tuks), 3. Mornay Smith (Centurion), 4. Ruan Vermaak (Naka Bulle), 5. Ruan Nortje (Naka Bulle), 6. Marcell Coetzee (c) (Naka Bulle), 7. Nizaam Carr (Harlequins), 8. Elrigh Louw (UP Tuks), 9. Keagan Johannes, (UP Tuks), 10. Chris Smith (Harlequins), 11. David Kriel (Centurion), 12. Harold Vorster (Northam Rhinos), 13.
Stedman Gans (Northam Rhinos), 14. Cornal Hendricks (Northam Rhinos), 15. Johan Goosen (Naka Bulle). Replacements: 16. Simphiwe Matanzima (Naka Bulle), 17. Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Pretoria), 18. Francois Klopper (Tuine), 19. Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria), 20. WJ Steenkamp (Tuine), 21. Bernard van der Linde (UP Tuks), 22. Sibongile Novuka (Nakka Bulle), 23. Wandisile Simelane (Centurion)