Vodacom Bulls Beat Ospreys After Dominant First Half


Springbok lock Ruan Nortje, named to captain the Vodacom Bulls got the first taste of his new job when they hosted the Ospreys in the Vodacom United Rugby Championship in Pretoria. The Vodacom Bulls secured an impressive win with 43-26 after dominating the first half, while the Ospreys were the "better" team in the second half.

The Vodacom Bulls dominated the first 20 minutes of the game and created space out wide with their direct and aggressive running. The Vodacom Bulls scored three early tries to lead 17-00 with 60 minutes to go.

The blue wave continued to dominate the second quarter, and although the Ospreys had their moments, the Vodacom Bulls were in complete control going into the second half leading 31-14.

The third quarter was a "bit" of a dull 20 minutes, however, the Ospreys did enjoy the territorial advantage and also scored the only try of the quarter to reduce the Vodacom Bulls lead to 31-19.

The last twenty minutes lost most of its structure as both teams attacked from everywhere. The Ospreys were the better team in the second half, however, the Vodacom Bulls deservedly won this match 43-26.

Vodacom Bulls: Tries: David Kriel (2), Nizaam Carr, WJ Steenkamp, Eldrich Louw, Ruan Nortje, Zak Burger. Conversions: Chris Smith (4).
Ospreys: Tries: Jack Walsh, Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler, Keiran Williams. Conversions: Jack Walsh (2)

06:32 David Kriel scored the Vodacom Bulls' first try in the corner after some slick handling by the backs. (07-00)
12:20 Nizaam Carr steamrolled his way past two defenders to score the Vodacom Bulls' second try. (12-00)
19:58 WJ Steenkamp scored the Vodacom Bulls' third try, once again in the corner, to extend their lead to 17-00)
25:57 Jack Walsh scored the Ospreys' first try following an aimless kick by the Vodacom Bulls which was used to attack. Some "iffy" defence by the Vodacom Bulls did help. (17-07)
31:56 David Kriel picked up a ball from behind an Ospreys' loose scrum to start the attack which eventually lead to his second try and the Vodacom Bulls' bonus point try. (24-07)
36:55 It took a grubber by flyhalf Keelan Giles to beat the defence of a patient Vodacom Bulls defence. Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler the player to fall on the ball to score Ospreys' second try. (24-14)
40:28 Eldrich Louw bulldozed his way over for the Vodacom Bulls' fifth try. Louw handled the ball four times before doing the final damage as the Vodacom Bulls patiently built the pressure. (31-14)
56:14 Keiran Williams wormed himself through the smallest gap in the defence of the Vodacom Bulls to score Ospreys third try. (31-19)
69:25 Ruan Nortje scored a great try for the Vodacom Bulls after some great interplay by the forwards and backs of the host leaving Nortje to stretch for his first try as captain of the Vodacom Bulls (38-19)
74:42 Sam Parry scored Ospreys bonus-point try following a 5m lineout maul that was stopped by the Vodacom Bulls. Parry bulldozed his way over. (38-26)
77:02 Zak Burger scored the Vodacom Bulls' seventh try. The Vodacom Bulls rumbled from the kickoff with the Ospreys' defence unable to stop the blue wave. (43-26)


Vodacom Bulls: 15. Wandisile Simelane, 14. David Kriel, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Stravino Jacobs, 10. Chris Smith, 9. Embrose Papier, 8. Elrigh Louw, 7.WJ Steenkamp, 6. Nizaan Carr, 5. Ruan Nortje, 4.Janko Swanepoel, 3. Francois Klopper, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Gerhard Steenekamp. Replacements: 16. Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17. Simphiwe Matanzima, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Ruan Vermaak, 20. Cyle Brink, 21. Zak Burger, 22. Morne Steyn, 23. Marco Janse van Vuren.

Ospreys: 15. Max Nagy, 14. Luke Morgan, 13. Tiaan Thomas-Wheeler, 12. Keiran Williams, 11. Keelan Giles, 10. Jack Walsh, 9. Rhys Webb (c), 8. Morgan Morris, 7. Will Hickey, 6. Ethan Roots, 5. Huw Sutton, 4. Bradley Davies, 3. Tom Botha, 2. Scott Baldwin, 1. Garyn Phillips. Replacements: 16. Sam Parry, 17. Rhys Henry, 18. Ben Warren, 19. James Fender, 20. Jack Regan, 21. Reuben Morgan-Williams, 22. Luke Scully, 23. Cai Evans.