Vodacom Bulls Beat Hapless Leinster In Try Fest


The Vodacom Bulls surprisingly overrun Leinster 62-07 in a brilliant display of attacking 15-man rugby and earned the maximum five points in their last league match of the 2023 URC rugby season.

The Vodacom Bulls led 31-00 going into the second half and added 5 tries in the second half to the 1 by Leinster.

The Vodacom Bulls dominated the early exchanges of the match resulting a Johan Goosen converting a penalty after 6 minutes of play to take an early 03-00 lead.

The Vodacom Bulls kept Leinster under constant pressure before captain Ruan Nortje bulldozed his way over the visitors' tryline to score the Vodacom Bulls' first try of the match after 12 minutes of play in the first half.

Kurt-Lee Arendse added two tries in a 10-minute period where the Vodacom Bulls continued to dominate territorially and possession to take a 24=00 lead with seven minutes to play.

Johan Grobbelaar scored a try from the back of a 5m lineout-maul to secure their bonus point as they lead 31-00 going into the second half.

The Vodacom Bulls started the second half as they ended the first, scoring their 5th try after just 90 seconds of play in the second half. Johan Grobbelaar scored his second try following brilliant interplay and passing by most of the Vodacom Bulls team. The Vodacom Bulls are in complete control leading 36-00.

The Vodacom Bulls were clinical and merciless as they continued scoring almost at will. Tries by Canan Moodie (2), Stedman Gans and Harold Vorster were scored during the last 30 minutes of play by the Vodacom Bulls while Michael Milne scored a try for Leinster.

Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Ruan Nortje, Kurt-Lee Arendse (2), Johan Grobbelaar (2), Canan Moodie (2), Stedman Gans, Harold Vorster. Conversions: Johan Goosen (7). Penalties: Johan Goosen.
Leinster: Try: Michael Milne. Conversion: Sam Prendergast.


Vodacom Bulls: 15 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 14 Canan Moodie, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 David Kriel, 10 Johan Goosen 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Elrigh Louw, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (c), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Mornay Smith, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp. Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Janko Swanepoel, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Keagan Johannes, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Cornal Hendricks.

Leinster: 15 Chris Cosgrave, 14 Tommy O’Brien, 13 Liam Turner, 12 Ben Brownlee, 11 Dave Kearney, 10 Sam Prendergast, 9 Nick McCarthy, 8 Max Deegan, 7 Will Connors, 6 James Culhane, 5 Brian Deeny, 4 Alex Soroka, 3 Thomas Clarkson, 2 Tadgh McElroy, 1 Ed Byrne (c). Replacements: 16 Lee Barron, 17 Michael Milne, 18 Temi Lasisi, 19 Conor O’Tighearnaigh, 20 Liam Molony, 21 Ben Murphy, 22 Charlie Tector, 23 Rob Russell.