Vodacom Bulls Are Still Looking For First Currie Cup Win After Loss To DHL Western Province


The Vodacom Bulls’ suffered their second Currie Cup loss at home against DHL WP when the visitors converted three penalties in the last 20 minutes to win 41-33.

It was clear from the start that both teams came to play running rugby while the defence was not high on their priority list.

Kade Wolhuter converted a penalty after just two minutes of play whereafter the Vodacom Bulls were quick to reply when they won a turnover whereafter Harold Voster broke the line leading directly to Sbu Nkosi's try.

Keke Morabe pounced on a mistake by the Vodacom Bulls and stormed down the touchline and offloaded to Paul de Wet who scored.

Ruhan Nel controlled a bouncing ball, beats two defenders and send Kade Wolhuter away to score in the corner. The DHL Western Province led 15-05 after 20 minutes of play.

Cornal Hendriks bulldozed his way over the visitors' tryline after the Vodacom Bulls launched attack after attack.

Kade Wolhuter converted a monster of a penalty to increase DHL Western Province's lead to 18-12 with ten minutes left to play in the second half.

With only one minute to go in the first half, Zak Burger controlled a great offload by Ruan Vermaak to score under the posts. The Vodacom Bulls lead 19-18 after 40 minutes of action.

DHL Western Province started the second half like a house on fire with Ruhan Nel scoring the first points out wide after great work by his forwards.

Johan Grobbelaar scored the Vodacom Bulls' bonus point try from the back of a lineout-maul. The Vodacom Bulls are back in the lead with 26-25.

With 20 minutes to go in the match, Francois Klopper scored from a lineout-maul to extend the home team's lead to 33-25, whereafter Clayton Blommetjies replied on behalf of the visitors in the corner to make it a one-point game.

Kade Wolhuter converted three penalties during the last 20 minutes of play to secure the visitors a 41-33 bonus point win.

Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Sby Nkosi, Cornal Hendricks, Zak Burger, Johan Grobbelaar, Francois Klopper. Conversions: Chris Smith (4).
DHL Western Province: Tries: Paul de Wet, Kade Wolhuter, Ruhan Nel, Clayton Blommetjies. Conversions: Kade Wolhuter (3). Penalties: Kade Wolhuter (5).


Vodacom Bulls: 15. David Kriel, 14. Quewin Nortje, 13. Cornal Hendricks, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Sibusiso Nkosi, 10. Chris Smith, 9. Zak Burger, 8. Elrigh Louw, 7. Cyle Brink, 6. Marco van Staden, 5. Ruan Nortje (c), 4. Ruan Vermaak, 3. Mornay Smith, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Gerhard Steenekamp. Replacements: 16. Bismarck du Plessis,17. Simpiwe Matanzima, 18. Francois Klopper, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. WJ Steenkamp, 21. Embrose Papier, 22. Morne Steyn, 23. Stedman Gans.

DHL Western Province: 15. Clayton Blommetjies, 14. Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13. Juan de Jongh, 12. Jean-Luc du Plessis, 11. Ruhan Nel, 10. Kade Wolhuter, 9. Paul de Wet, 8. Keke Morabe, 7. Willie Engelbrecht, 6. Marcel Theunissen, 5. Connor Evans, 4. Ernst van Rhyn (c), 3. Sazi Sandi, 2. Andre-Hugo Venter, 1. Kwenzo Blose. Replacements: 16. Scarra Ntubeni, 17. Leon Lyons, 18. Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 19. Dylan de Leeuw, 20. Ben-Jason Dixon, 21. Hacjivah Dayimani, 22. Godlen Masimla, 23. Bruce Sherwood.