VirSeker Big Schools Final – Lichtenburg vs Helpmekaar Preview



Helpmekaar will have to travel 200 kilometers plus to go and defend their titel as VirSeker Big School champions. Lichtenburg will be playing their fourth final since beating Merensky in 1988. Being already crowned as champions in the Pukke series in the beginning of the season, Lichtenburg must see themselves in with a chance to surprise Helpmekaar and the rest of South Africa. 

Helpmekaar struggled to win a injury affected Ligbron in the semi finals in a windy Ermelo with 27 -15. Ligbron had the advantage up front but the Helpies backs with Chuiner van Rooyen pulled this one through for the champions. Helpmekaar will also welcome back Mark Snyman who was involved with the SA "A" team in Cape Town, missing Helpmekaar's last two matches. Robbie Slabbert who was one of the stars last Saturday, is expected to move back into the lock position after successfully moving to loose forwards to cover for Mark.

Players: Mark Snyman, Chuiner van Rooyen, Robbie Slabbert, Tiaan van der Merwe (captain), Ignis Meyer, Ruhan Viviers, Dameon Venter, Lehan du Toit, Ettienne van der Merwe, Liam van den Berg, Luwan Ludick, Tristan Oosthuizen, Sherman Rayners, Jeremy Randall, Keegan Hamman, Raymond Bock, Zandre Kruger, Chris Pieterse, Tiaan Scholtz, Daniel Coetsee, Milan Fourie, Frederick van Deventer, Pieter Coetzee. 

Lichtenburg on the otherhand had a much easier semi final. Leading 26 - 0 within 15 minutes in the first half, eventually winning by 48 -17 against Vereeniging Gym. Their captain and loosie Gerhard Meyer will have to inspire their forwards and take the battle to Helpies up front in order for their back line to provide the magic. Flyhalf Evardi Boshoff and their dangerous back line will then have to do the rest.

Lichtenburg team Sheet : Donnavan Serfontein; Bertru Jones, Bushie van der Walt, Lohann Jahns, Henk Venter; Evardi Boshoff, Rabie van Zyl; Anthony Keen, Gerhard Meyer ©, Henco Nel, Johann Kotzé, Corno Lubbe, Craivian Smith, Christo Badenhorst, Pieter Carroll. Reserves: Marcu Swart, Dian Pretorius, SW Conradie, Christepher Zandberg, Lian Rothman, Janko Schickerling, Renco van Huyssteen, Dries Rall.