Varsity Shield – FNB Varsity College Continuing Impressive Debut Season With Win Over FNB CPUT


FNB Varsity College are continuing with their impressive debut season when they beat FNB CPUT 38-23 at the IIE Varsity College in Durban.

It was the visitors however who were first to score when Keenan Williams took advantage of the bounce of the ball to score the first of his two tries. Keewan Titus was unsuccessful with the conversion.

A quick sprint from Macmillian Mudara played a massive role and made it easy for Varsity College captain AB Mthembu to finish off taking the score line to 7-5 as Frederick Marx converted successfully.

Marx and Juan Steyl then added their names to the scoreboard with Marx also adding two conversions. In between the two Varsity College tries, Titus slotted a penalty for CPUT from 20 meters out taking the score to 21-8 for the home side.

The two sides then traded more tries with Williams scoring his brace for CPUT and Johan Viljoen crossing over for Varsity College’s bonus point. The home team led 26-13 at half-time.

Coming back from the break, Steyl secured his brace as Marx converted successfully taking the score to 33-13.

CPUT staged a comeback late in the match with back-to-back tries from Kieran Naidoo and Wehan Kruger.

Viljoen however put down any thoughts of a come-from-behind win from the visitors when he went over for his second try for Varsity College and sealed an important victory with the play-offs looming.

FNB Varsity College: Tries: Abande Mthembu, Juan Steyl (2), Frederick Marx, Johan Viljoen (2). Conversions: Frederick Marx (4).
FNB CPUT: Tries: Keenan Williams (2), Keirnan Naidoo, Wehan Kruger. Penalty: Keewan Titus.

FNB Player That Rocks: MacMillan Mudara (FNB Varsity College)


FNB Varsity College: 1 Sonwabo Simthembile Maseko, 2 Jacques Theron du Toit Marais, 3 Siyabonga Luyanda Dube, 4 Garren Müller, 5 Werner Johan Coetzee, 6 Michael Jonathan Horak, 7 Sinelifa Mmangaliso Ncwana, 8 Juan Orde Steyl, 9 Abande Mpumelelo Mthembu, 10 Frederick Nicolaas Marx, 11 Mbasa Nkonki, 12 Luke Christopher Horak, 13 Macmillian Zvikomborero Mudara, 14 Sivuyisiwe Mpendu, 15 Tshegofatso Ramaloko.

FNB CPUT: 1 Emihle Akho Benya, 2 Lihle Lindisipho Kula, 3 Kieran Delaan Naidoo, 4 Ntsako Ashley Mhlanga, 5 Lwando Woji, 6 Lungelo Lethukuthula Kubheka, 7 Duke Somila Shasha, 8 Ayabulela Zono, 9 Jayson January, 10 Keewan Titus, 11 Keenan Williams, 12 Timothy Matthew Shortles, 13 Iwaan Bloys, 14 Danielle Israel Padiachy, 15 Keene Munnick.