Varsity Shield – FNB UP-Tuks Run Amok Against FNB Varsity College


All eyes were on Pretoria for the much-anticipated top-of-the-log clash between FNB UP-Tuks and FNB Varsity College but in the end, the former FNB Varsity Cup champions ran in 11 tries to thoroughly beat the debutants 75-21.

The home side were the first to open the scoreboard through winger Bayanda Ngubane who crossed over in the corner. The visitors responded with back-to-back tries through Jacques Theron du Toit Marais and Abanda Mthembu to take a 14-7 lead.

Tries from eight-man Marco Venter and skipper Ethan Burger secured Tuks a bonus point. The Striped Generation’s forwards continued their dominance when Henry Till added another five-pointer on the stroke of halftime. Tuks flyhalf Jean Pierre Wentzel made no mistake from the tee converting all of Tuks' tries to give the Pretoria outfit a healthy 35-14 lead at the break.

The home side picked up where they left off when Till completed his brace when the players returned to the field.

Tuks were reduced to 14 men when captain Ethan Burger was sent to the sin bin.

Chad-Lee Valentine made it try number seven for Tuks before Varsity College registered their third through Mbasa Nkonki.

Tuks’ party continued in the one-sided affair as tries by Cayno February, Dillon Smith, Kamohelo Tlome and Jacobus Louw pushed the scoreline to 75.

Wentzel missed only one of his eight conversions and this clinical kicking performance earned him the Player That Rocks award. Kyle Cyster was successful with his three conversions.

FNB UP-Tuks: Tries: Bayanda Ngubane, Marco Venter, Johannes Marè, Ethan Burger, Henry Till (2), Chad-Lee Valentine, Cayno February, Dillon Smith, Kamohelo Tlome, Jacobus Louw. Conversions: Jean-Pierre Wentzel (7). Penalties: Kyle Cyster (2).
FNB Varsity College: Tries: Jacques Theron du Toit Marais, Abande Mpumelelo Mthembu, Mbasi Nkonki. Conversions: Frederick Marx (3).

FNB Player That Rocks: Jean-Pierre Wentzel (FNB UP-Tuks)


FNB UP-Tuks: 1 Ethan Lance Burger, 2 Henry Edwin Till, 3 Dian Stephan Coetzee, 4 Johannes Wilhelmus Marè, 5 Cayno Douglas February, 6 Kamohelo Tlome, 7 Hilton Gie, 8 Marco Venter, 9 Chad-Lee Valentine, 10 Jean-Pierre Wentzel, 11 Nqubeko Sbongakonke Mkwanazi, 12 Keane Romaine Galant, 13 Zander Reynders, 14 Bayanda Ngubane Ngubane, 15 Tharquinn Thane Manuel.

FNB Varsity College: 1 Daniel Van Huizen, 2 Jacques Theron du Toit Marais, 3 Siyabonga Luyanda Dube, 4 Garren Müller, 5 Werner Johan Coetzee, 6 Thendo Eric Junior Netshidzati, 7 Sinelifa Mmangaliso Ncwana, 8 Juan Orde Steyl, 9 Abande Mpumelelo Mthembu, 10 Frederick Nicolaas Marx, 11 Tshegofatso Ramaloko, 12 Macmillian Zvikomborero Mudara, 13 Mbasa Nkonki, 14 Sivuyisiwe Mpendu, 15 Luke Christopher Horak.