Varsity Shield – FNB Madibaz Still Unbeaten After Win Over FNB TUT


FNB Madibaz kept their unblemished record with a convincing 29-7 victory over FNB TUT in Pretoria. The half-time score was 26-0.

It was the visitors from the Eastern Cape who drew the first blood when Kyle Erasmus dotted down from a driving maul inside the first 10 minutes.

TUT were looking to strike back immediately and went all the way to the try line three times. The Pretoria however fell short on each occasion. Madibaz on the other hand continued their dominance in the set pieces and were awarded with a penalty try when TUT prop Lawrence Nong infringed the maul.

Erasmus then powered over to complete his brace. Kehan Myburgh made no mistake from the tee and the Madibaz continued to build on a healthy lead.

TUT’s first chance for points in the second half fell short when flyhalf Mihlali Bam failed to boot over a penalty. They also kept losing possession with their handling not up to par.

At one point the home side was reduced to 14 men when Knowledge Chaira was sent to the sin bin.

TUT kept knocking and were finally rewarded with a consolidation try in the dying minutes of the second half when Vuyani Vanga flew over the try line with Luke van Aardt converting to end the game.

FNB Madibaz: Tries: Kyle Erasmus (2), Penalty Try, Christopher Kachungunu. Conversions: Kehan Myburgh (2). Penalty: Kehan Myburgh.
FNB TUT: Tries: Vuyani Vanga. Conversion: Luke van Aardt.

FNB Player That Rocks: Leon van der Merwe (FNB Madibaz)

FNB Madibaz: 1 Imibongo Mvuleni, 2 Kyle Erasmus, 3 Andries Johannes Flemming, 4 Marthinus Strydom, 5 Christopher Cikuru Kachungunu, 6 Mzwakhe Kevin Hlupheko, 7 Alwaba Liyema Elam Bobelo, 8 Leon van der Merwe, 9 Mpumelelo Solani Mavuso, 10 Raashied Conrad, 11 Henry Edward Frederick Kruger, 12 Janco Albert van der Walt, 13 Buhlebemvelo Fipaza, 14 Qurin Cupido, 15 Kehan Myburgh.

FNB TUT: 1 Mxolisi Innocent Nzama, 2 Jandre van Zyl, 3 Lawrence Nong, 4 Lwazi Lwandile Dlamini, 5 Thato Mopedi, 6 Knowledge Chaira, 7 Lutho Luxolo Tom, 8 Kgomotso Samuel Chuene Maribana, 9 Buhlebuyeza Sthandwa Tebogo Ndunakazi, 10 Mihlali Sipho Bam, 11 Vuyani Vanqa, 12 Josh Sandile Robinson Robinson, 13 Sean-B Kagiso Tshego, 14 Khotso Segale, 15 Mauritz Maritz.