Varsity Shield – FNB CPUT Edge Past FNB TUT For First Win Of The Season


A clinical opening half by FNB CPUT helped them edge past FNB TUT 15-13 at home in Cape Town to claim their first win in this year’s Varsity Shield.

The two-time champions are in a serious rebuilding phase and CPUT capitalised on their territory and possession, running in a brilliant first-half try courtesy of Iwaan Bloys handing them a halftime score of 7-3.

Despite a host of errors by both sides, it was CPUT who came out tops with a very disciplined display of determination and skills. Telling runs by Keenan Williams, Ayabulela Zono, and Keewan Titus meant that the possession favoured the home side.

The home side dominated the scrums and with this advantage, it was Oyintando Maseti who darted through two would-be TUT defenders for his side’s second try.

A late surge in the 72nd minute by TUT saw Kgomotso Maribana gather the ball at the back of a rolling maul to dive over. This was followed up with a second TUT try when Josh Robinson went over handing the visitors the lead for the first time, 12-13.

It was, however, not to be the fairy tale come-from-behind win for TUT as Linton Maritz slotted a 79th-minute penalty for a 15-13 CPUT victory.

FNB CPUT: Tries: Iwaan Bloys, Oyintando Maseti. Conversions: Oyintando Maseti. Penalty: Linton Maritz.
FNB TUT: Tries: Kgomotso Maribana, Josh Robinson. Penalty. Mauritz Maritz.

FNB Player That Rocks: Oyintando Maseti (FNB CPUT)

FNB CPUT: 1 Emihle Akho Benya, 2 Kéran Jayson Valentyn, 3 Kieran Delaan Naidoo, 4 Ntsako Ashley Mhlanga, 5 Keanan Benjamin Odwa Rolosi, 6 Duke Somila Shasha, 7 Lungelo Lethukuthula Kubheka, 8 Ayabulela Zono, 9 Jayson January, 10 Oyintando Honour Maseti, 11 Keenan Williams, 12 Timothy Matthew Shortles, 13 Iwaan Bloys, 14 Danielle Israel Padiachy, 15 Keewan Titus.

FNB TUT: 1 Mxolisi Innocent Nzama, 2 Jandre van Zyl, 3 Lawrence Nong, 4 Lwazi Lwandile Dlamini, 5 Clinton Mbusowenkosi Ngomane, 6 Knowledge Chaira, 7 Lutho Luxolo Tom, 8 Kgomotso Samuel Chuene Maribana, 9 Buhlebuyeza Sthandwa Tebogo Ndunakazi, 10 Mihlali Sipho Bam, 11 Sipho Jnr S’thembiso Malaza, 12 Josh Sandile Robinson, 13 Mauritz Maritz, 14 Vuyani Vanqa, 15 Ayabonga Thokozani Zakwe.