Varsity Cup – FNB Wits Looking To Push It To The Top


With pre-season preparations for the 2024 FNB Varsity Cup starting to wrap up, FNB Wits coach Hugo van As has expressed his delight with the efforts put in by his team.

They get their campaign underway on Monday 19 February with an away game against FNB UWC in Cape Town.

“Pre-season has been going great, obviously the month of November was challenging with exams but we can’t complain, the team’s attitude to learn and to work hard has been fantastic,” says Van As.

He adds Wits has high expectations for the season and will be looking to push it to the top.

“We are training and preparing to do well in the 2024 edition of the Varsity Cup. The group has high expectations and is dreaming of having an unforgettable Varsity Cup season, because which team is preparing not to win this great competition?”

Van As is excited about the new talent that has joined the squad, which includes the skipper from rivals FNB UJ, Kelvin Kanenungo, and Junior Boks scrumhalf Hasheem Pead.

“We have lost a couple of players to other universities, a few have finished up and entered the working environment, while a few of our youngsters have come through the ranks and will add massively to our squad this year. We have a few new players who have joined us, including former UJ captain Kelvin Kanenungo, prop Elisha Kwitonda and Tiraque Applolles. Hasheem Pead is also an exciting addition, he is currently in the Junior Boks set-up.”

According to Van As there is more than one player to look out for.

“Our captain Ngia Selengbe will always be special, Setshaba Mokoena, Lindo Ncusane, Cal Smid, Liyema Matoylweni and Mark Snyman are the old heads in the group. But I must be honest, Wits has never been about the stars but collectively our whole squad is key and so important for us.”

PROVISIONAL SQUAD LIST (subject to change)

Elisha Kwitonda, Jason Cloete, Ronan Dutton, Marno Grobbler, Dagan Meuwese, De Wet Lottering, Sibusiso Shongwe, Liam Whithead, Reno Hirst, Henk Gouws, Lood Prins, George Devenish, Armin Weideman, Kelvin Kanenungo, De Wet Fourie, Cal Smid, Luca Ribbans, Joshua Ferriera, Lindokuhle Ncusane, Kevin Tshituka, Wernich Aucamp, Drew Bennet, Kabelo Mohkheti, Tireque Apolles, Mark Snyman, Alec Mcintyre, Ngia Selengbe, Liyema Matoylweni, Dustyn Holmes, Kevon Chirwa, Charmly Siyabonga Mndhluli, Setshaba Mokoena, Tirahni Masondo, Caleb Lombaard, Hashim Pead.