Varsity Cup – FNB Wits Fought Back To Hold FNB UCT Ikeys To A Draw


FNB Wits fought back to hold a determined FNB UCT Ikeys to a 33-33 stalemate at the Wits Stadium.

It took a last-minute try and conversion for the Witsies to avoid defeat against a team they enjoyed the better of in the territory and possession battle.

The first half saw Ikeys getting out of the blocks the quickest with a penalty inside the first two minutes with Ntokozo Makhaza making no mistake. The in-form winger was back in the thick of things again with a dazzling run that eventually saw him offloading to scrumhalf Riaan Genis, who neatly finished under the poles. Makhaza stepped up to convert and for the visitors to take a 12-0 lead.

The Witsies eventually got on the scoreboard in the 20th minute, after camping in the UCT 22. Scrumhalf Wernich Aucamp managed to pick up and score from close range, with Tireque Apolles converting to bring the score to 7-12. The rest of the half saw the visitors run in a further two tries, while the Witsies could only manage a converted penalty. The half-time score was 28-10 in favour of Ikeys.

The second half saw the home team showing sheer determination as they managed to restrict their opponents to a single try by prop Mhleli Khuzwayo. Wits ran in two more tries courtesy of Setshaba Mokoena and George Devenish before Ronan Dutton’s last grasp effort and Apolles’ conversion gave them a share of the points.

FNB Wits: Tries: Wernich Aucamp, Setshaba Mokoena, George Devenish, Ronan Dutton. Conversions: Tireque Apolles (4). Penalty: Tireque Apolles.
FNB UCT: Tries: Riaan Genis (2), Duran Koevort, Mhleli Khuzwayo, Conversions: Ntokoza Makhaza (2). Penalty: Ntokozo Makhaza.

FNB Player That Rocks: Jonathan Roche (FNB UCT)

FNB Wits: 1 Jason Cloete, 2 Dewet Lottering, 3 Sibusiso Shongwe, 4 Armin Durandt Weideman, 5 George Lawson St Leger Devenish, 6 Kelvin Kanenungo, 7 Thandolwethu Biyela, 8 Lindokuhle Ncusane, 9 Wernich Aucamp, 10 Tireque Apolles, 11 Lindani Dweba, 12 Caleb Lombard, 13 Liyema Matyolweni, 14 Dustyn Matthew Holmes, 15 Setshaba Mohlakoane Mokoena.

FNB UCT: 1 Mhleli Khethuxolo Khuzwayo, 2 Keagan Blanckenberg, 3 John Kelly Ifechukwu Okonkwo, 4 Enos Ndiao, 5 Johan van Rhyn, 6 Siphumezo Dyonase, 7 Laro Delport, 8 Reynhardt Crous, 9 Riaan Genis, 10 Alexander Vermeulen, 11 Ntokozo Sibusiso Makhaza, 12 Jonathan Roche, 13 Joshua Boulle, 14 Lezane George Davis, 15 Duran Ryan Koevort.