Varsity Cup – FNB UFS Shimlas Claimed Fourth Straight Bonus Point Win With Victory Over FNB CUT Ixias


FNB UFS Shimlas claimed the bragging rights and a fourth straight bonus point win with a 59-40 victory over FNB CUT Ixias in Bloemfontein.

In a game of two halves, it was one-way traffic in the first stanza at a packed CUT Rugby Stadium as the Shimlas taught their neighbours a lesson in running rugby. The super-impressive Shimlas outside centre, Zane Bester, led the charge for the visitors by scoring a brace of point-of-origin tries in the first forty-minute period.

Jandré Nel went over for the Shimlas’ first of four point-of-origin tries seven-pointers that was set up by the fleet-footed winger, Kirwin du Preez, who also produced the magic for Bester’s first try.

There was also a penalty try for the Shimlas when Du Preez, who deserved a try, got taken out with a high tackle by Liam Prinsloo. For this tackle, Prinsloo was sent to the pink couch for ten minutes.

On the stroke of half-time, the Ixias finally managed to get on the board when the tighthead prop, Sisipho Nofuya, powered over for a converted try to see his team trailing 7-43 at the interval.

In the second 40-minute period the flow of the traffic went the other way and the Ixias showcased their renowned fighting spirit with Janco Cloete, Adielson Gouveia (point-of-origin), Juan Smith, Asekho Marubelela and Tiaan Naudé scoring to give themselves a sniff. But, tries by Shimlas flyhalf Ethan Wentzel and captain Neels Volschenk put it out of reach for the valiant Ixias.

FNB UFH :Tries: Jandré Nel, Zane Bester (2), Penalty try, Siviwe Zondani, Ethan Wentzel, Neels Volschenk. Conversions: Ethan Wentzel (6).
FNB CUT: Tries: Sisipho Nofuya, Janco Cloete, Adielson Gouveia, Juan Smith, Asekho Marubelela, Tiaan Naudé. Conversions: Juan Smith (3).

FNB Player That Rocks: Jandré Nel (FNB UFS)


FNB UFS: 1 Ntokozo Hlophe, 2 Liyema Mgwigwi, 3 Francisco Dos Reis, 4 Reinier Viljoen, 5 John Raymond Stopforth, 6 Cornelius Hermanus Smit Volschenk, 7 Katlego Khumo Lobakeng, 8 Siyambuka Sobe Nakhane Ningiza, 9 Jandré Nel, 10 Ethan SJ Wentzel, 11 Siviwe Zondani, 12 Gideon Jooste Nel, 13 Zane Bester, 14 Kirwin Curtley Du Preez, 15 Michael Annies.

FNB CUT: 1 Jan-Hendrik Bessenger, 2 Albertus Human Venter, 3 Sisipho Nofuya, 4 Asekho Phindile Marubelela, 5 Kevin Strydom, 6 Tsebano Edward Stemer, 7 Irwin Ivan Meyer, 8 Jacobus Johannes Cloete, 9 Raydon Swartbooi, 10 Juan Arnold Smith, 11 Liam Ethan De Wet, 12 Liam Prinsloo, 13 Zachery Bester, 14 Adielson Gouveia, 15 Natanael Young.