Varsity Cup – FNB UCT Ikeys Will Host A Desperate FNB UJ


FNB UCT Ikeys will host FNB UJ in the first match of Round two of the 2022 Varsity Cup at 17h00 on Monday. 

UJ will be desperate for a win as they try to evade the relegation ghost especially after their "win" against CUT Ixias was overturned after an appeal by CUT after the match. UJ are currently second from the bottom on the 2021/2022 log on 18 log points, two points behind 8th placed UWC. 

UCT Ikeys will have to make a better start to the match than they did in their win of 35-26 against the NWU Eagles. The Ikeys scored 26 unanswered points during the last 45 minutes of the match against the Eagles to win in the dying seconds of the match.

FNB UCT Ikeys made two changes to their starting lineup where Duran Koevort (Fullback) is promoted from the bench after he scored a last-minute match-winning try against NW Eagles in Round 1. Winger Ntokozo Makhaza who will make his first appearance in 2022 for the IKeys is the second change by the Ikeys.

FNB UJ thought they did enough against CUT Ixias for the first "upset" of the 2022 Varsity Cup competition, however, after an appeal by the host the match was declared a draw after a 5point try by CUT Ixias was changed to a 7point try two days later.

FNB UJ made only three changes to their starting line-up. Both wings are replaced with Rowan Malgas as well as Likhaya Tengimfene is promoted from the bench while in the only change up front CJ Masuku will make his first appearance for 2022.


UCT Ikeys: 15 Duran Koevort, 14 Rihaz Fredericks, 13 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 12 Kyle Lamb, 11 Ntokozo Makhaza, 10 David Hayes, 9 William Rose, 8 Jason MacLeod Smith, 7 Taariq Kruger, 6 Siphumezo Dyonase, 5 Mika Schubert, 4 Matthew Grobler, 3 Keagan Glade, 2 Alex Castle, 1 Luthando Woji (c). Replacements: 16 Keagan Blanckenberg, 17 Seth Christian, 18 Alizwa Mngqeta, 19 Reynhardt Crous, 20 Thomas Meyer, 21 Kyle Bowman, 22 Justin Cross, 23 Ruben Labuschagne.

FNB UJ: 15 Shaun-Christian Baxter, 14 Rowan Malgas, 13 Musawenkosi Tshabalala, 12 Indiphile Tyeda, 11 Likhaya Tengimfene, 10 Jonathan Viljoen, 9 Keegan Joubert, 8 Buhlebenkosi Qaba, 7 CJ Masuku, 6 Johannes Terblanche (co-c), 5 Brendon Pawson, 4 Philip Apea-Adu, 3 Frans Bezuidenhout, 2 Hloni Mphuthi, 1 Kayden Kiewit. Replacements: 16 Darnell Osuagwu, 17 Elizee Kwitonda, 18 Junior Banda, 19 Connor van Buuren, 20 Babalo Makana, 21 Mpho Kubheka, 22 Kelvin Kanenungo (co-c), 23 Gerath Louw.