Varsity Cup – FNB UCT Ikeys Cruising Past FNB CUT Ixias


FNB UCT Ikeys cruised past FNB CUT Ixias 44-07 at the Green Mile.

The Tigers scored four first-half tries as they bossed around the vulnerable Ixias side who looked powerless in the first stanza.

Winger Notokozo Makhaza broke the deadlock as he scored a point-of-origin try following an error by the visitors who lost a crucial ball in their 22. He didn’t make any mistake with the conversion taking the score to 9-0.

Lock Enos Ndiao forced his way through the CUT defence to dive over for UCT’s second try. Scrumhalf Riaan Genis did not want to be left out and after a successful lineout, driven by eight-man Reynhardt Crous, Genis scored his try. Makhaza’s conversion took the score to 23-0.

A crosskick from Tigers flyhalf Alexander Vermeulen found hooker Keagan Blanckenberg standing in the wing position and he powered his way over the tryline. Makhaza slotted his fourth successful conversion taking the score to 30-0 at half-time.

Xola Nyali scored UCT’s fifth try 10 minutes into the second half. It didn’t take long for Makhaza to add a second try to his name taking the score to 44-0 after 56 minutes.

CUT utility back Juan Arnold Smith scored the only try for the visitors from a good line-out ball. Flyhalf Natanael Young netted the conversion, but it was too little, too late.

FNB UCT Ikeys: Tries: Ntokoza Makhaza (2), Enos Ndiao, Riaan Genis, Keagan Blanckenberg, Xola Nyali. Conversions: Ntokozo Makhaza (6).
FNB CUT: Try: Juan Arnold Smith. Conversion: Natanael Young.

FNB Player That Rocks: Ntokozo Makhaza (FNB UCT)


FNB UCT Ikeys: 1 Mhleli Khethuxolo Khuzwayo, 2 Keagan Blanckenberg, 3 John Kelly Ifechukwu Okonkwo, 4 Enos Ndiao, 5 Johan van Rhyn, 6 Xola Nyali, 7 Laro Delport, 8 Reynhardt Crous, 9 Riaan Genis, 10 Alexander Vermeulen, 11 Ntokozo Sibusiso Makhaza, 12 Jonathan Roche, 13 Thomas Nel, 14 Lezane George Davis, 15 Duran Ryan Koevort.

FNB CUT: 1 Jan-Hendrik Bessenger, 2 Albertus Human Venter, 3 Leon Johan Franzsen, 4 Asekho Phindile Marubelela, 5 Jonathan Olivier, 6 Tsebano Edward Stemer, 7 Tjaart Jurie Van der Walt, 8 Jacobus Johannes Cloete, 9 Raydon Swartbooi, 10 Natanael Young, 11 Tsepo Siphosethu Malumane, 12 Septimus Dercksen, 13 Liam Prinsloo, 14 Adielson Gouveia, 15 Devanito Lushan Vergotine.