Varsity Shield – FNB Tuks Comprehensively Beat FNB WSU


FNB UP-Tuks are well on their way to getting back to where they want to be following a comprehensive 41-17 victory over FNB WSU at the Sisa Dukashe Stadium. The former FNB Varsity Cup champions are now at the top of the log.

The match kicked off with a blistering start for Tuks, as tighthead prop Jacobus Johan Louw crossed the whitewash within the first four minutes. The conversion was successful, setting the tone for Tuks' early dominance. However, the WSU All Blacks quickly rallied back, securing a penalty through the precise boot of flyhalf Isiphe Mbini.

Tuks continued to assert their authority, doubling their try tally before the strategy break with lock Jannes Mare making his mark. The Stripe Generation extended their lead with an additional try just before half-time, courtesy of eight-man Marco Venter. As the teams headed into the break, Tuks held a commanding 21-3 lead.

The second half saw WSU opening the scoring, as hooker Mangaliso Zixesha added his name to the scoresheet from a rolling maul. Winger Simthembile Zozi further fuelled the comeback, intercepting and galloping almost 80 meters to score under the posts, narrowing the gap to just four points.

However, Tuks responded with resilience, as substitute flanker Dillon Shane Smith's try and a penalty try following scrum issues for WSU added crucial points to the Stripe Generation's lead. In the dying moments of the game, flanker Hilton Gie secured their sixth try, sealing a comprehensive victory.

FNB UP-Tuks: Tries: Jacobus Louw, Johannes Marè, Marco Venter, Dillon Shane Smith, (penalty try), Hilton Gie. Conversions: Jean-Pierre Wentzel (4).
FNB WSU: Tries: Mangaliso Zixesha, Simthembile Zozi. Conversions: Isiphe Mbindi (2). Penalty: Isipe Mbini.

FNB Player That Rocks: Marco Venter (FNB UP-Tuks)


FNB WSU: 1 Sinethemba Zwelonke, 2 Mangaliso Zixesha, 3 Ayabonga Masivuye Spelt, 4 Kamva Tetani, 5 Hlomla Mihlali Payi, 6 Khanya Solani, 7 Pernell Mervian Mandes, 8 Esethu Zenani, 9 Esenam Mniki, 10 Isipe Leo Mbini, 11 Bulelani Amyoli Nondlwana, 12 Hlumelo Zitha, 13 Awonke Sondishe, 14 Simthembile Zozi, 15 Lukhangele Tshayi.

FNB UP-Tuks: 1 Bambolunye Samkelo Dlamini, 2 Henry Edwin Till, 3 Jacobus Johan Louw, 4 Johannes Wilhelmus Marè, 5 Roald Hattingh, 6 Kamohelo Tlome, 7 Hilton Gie, 8 Marco Venter, 9 Chad-Lee Valentine, 10 Jean-Pierre Wentzel, 11 Bayanda Ngubane Ngubane, 12 Keane Romaine Galant, 13 Zander Reynders, 14 Nqubeko Sbongakonke Mkwanazi, 15 Tharquinn Thane Manuel.