Varsity Cup – FNB Maties Outgunned Bottom-of-the-log FNB UWC


Five-time FNB Varsity Cup champions FNB Maties outgunned bottom-of-the-log FNB UWC 63-19 in their Cape derby in Bellville. The men from Stellenbosch built a solid base following a 19-77 half-time lead.

The home side made some telling runs in the opening quarter of the match when flyhalf Aaron Swartz swerved his way around three would-be Maties defenders to dot down for the first try. Conwill Conradie added the extras.

Maties bided their time well and worked economically with the possession and territory that they had in the first half, resulting in Vernon Matongo crashing over for a Maties unconverted try. The visitors soon compounded their score when DeWet Marais and Juan Mostert ran in for two unanswered tries.

It was a Maroon Machine affair in the second half when Maties ran in two point-of-origin and two five-pointers, to lead 7-49 lead as the second strategy break loomed.

A late consolation try courtesy of replacement scrumhalf Wian van der Sandt meant UWC could go into double digits on the scoreboard before the final whistle blew.

Maties ran in a few more tries towards the end of the match with their experience in the end proving too much for UWC in their first season back in the Cup division.

FNB Maties: Tries: Vernon Matongo (2), DeWet Marais, Juan Mostert, Christiaan van Heerden-Smith, Louw Nel, Ryan Manuel, Edrich Viljoen, DeWet Marais. Conversions: Juan Mostert (6).
FNB UWC: Tries: Aaron Swartz, Wian van der Sandt. Conversion: Conwill Conradie.

FNB Player That Rocks: Juan Mostert (FNB Maties)


FNB Maties: 1 Vernon Tadiwa Matongo, 2 Siyasanga Ngubelanga, 3 Friedrich Cornelius Weilbach, 4 Zuko Poswa, 5 Matthew Gray, 6 Fortune Ntokozo Mpofu, 7 Louw Nel, 8 DeWet Marais, 9 Mckyle Volmoer, 10 Juan Mostert, 11 Matthew Emile Van Schalkwyk, 12 Brendan John Venter, 13 Ryan Marcus Manuel, 14 Paschal Uzoma Ekeji, 15 Cade Martin Croy.

FNB UWC: 1 Hlonela Qelile, 2 Joshua Eras, 3 Keanuh Cameron Michaels, 4 Michail Kasfikis, 5 Carel Van der Merwe, 6 Romuad Nsombamanya, 7 Louan De Lange, 8 Zinzan Magerman, 9 Conwill Brooklyn Conradie, 10 Aaron Benjamin Swartz,11 Hlomla Ncana, 12 Bryan John Breda, 13 Denver-Junior Van Wyk, 14 Will Bradford Vraagom, 15 Jean Jacques van Schalkwyk.