URC – Emirates Lions Name Line-up To Host Munster


The Emirates Lions host current title holders Munster in Round 15 of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship at Emirates Airline Park this Saturday at 17:00 (SA Time). Fresh from their 44-12 victory against Leinster last week Saturday, the men from downtown Johannesburg are hoping to replicate that performance against another Irish side basking from their win against The Vodacom Bulls at Loftus.

A victory for the Lions on Saturday would place Ivan van Rooyen’s men in a favourable position as they continue to chase a playoff spot, with only four regular league games remaining for the season.

Emirates Lions scrum expert Julian Redelinghuys cautioned earlier this week that while their Irish opponents boast a host of internationals, focus should not be placed on that too much but rather on his team’s processes ahead of Saturday.

“For us to have success this weekend we will have to focus on ourselves, focus on our processes and not allow the Munster’s star power to distract us. If you focus too much on other things, you tend to forget what you need to do so it’s vitally important that we concentrate on us while being aware of what we will be up against,” he said.

In team news, Jordan Hendrikse runs out for his 50th international match for the Emirates Lions from the fullback position, replacing the injured Quan Horn who suffered a shoulder niggle during the week. The side will also be without star centre Henco van Wyk for the rest of the season due to an injury he picked up against Leinster.

A welcome return for Ruan Venter to the match 23 as well as Gianni Lombard who covers at flyhalf and fullback.

Emirates Lions:
1. Morgan Naude
2. Jaco Visagie
3. Ruan Dreyer
4. Willem Alberts
5. Ruan Delport
6. JC Pretorius
7. Emmanuel Tshituka
8. Francke Horn
9. Morne van den Berg
10. Sanele Nohamba
11. Edwill van der Merwe
12. Marius Louw (c)
13. Erich Cronje
14. Richard Kriel
15. Jordan Hendrikse

16. PJ Botha
17. JP Smith
18. Asenathi Ntlabakanye
19. Reinhard Nothnagel
20. Ruan Venter
21. Sibusiso Sangweni
22. Nico Steyn
23. Gianni Lombard