UP-Tuks Must Get Their Season Back On Track Against UWC


FNB UP-Tuks travel to Bellville tonight @ 17h00 to play against FNB UWC in the first game of Round 5 of the FNB Varsity Cup competition. 

Both teams lost their fixture in Round 4 with TUKS maybe the more disappointed of the two sides with their performance a week ago. TUKS lost to NWU Eagles with 08-17 in Potchefstroom while UWC lost 26-51 to FNB UCT Ikeys.

TUKS is currently in the 6th position on the Varsity Cup log and will need to use this game to turn their season around and start their progress to the semi-final in earnest. If not TUKS could go from hero to zero in just one year.

FNB UWC made four changes to their starting line-up. Will Vraagom and Patrick Kotze are the two new faces on the wing. Ethan Diston replaces Hanno van Biljon on flyhalf while the only change up front is Jaques Mostert at the side of the scrum.

UP-Tuks made five changes to their starting line-up that lost to NWU Eagles. Kabelo Mokoena replaces Stefan Coetzee who received a red card against NWU Eagles. Pierre Fourie at wing is the other change at the back. Upfront Jacobus comes in at the side of the scrum while Orateng Koikanyang moves to eight in the place of Hardus Rothman. Tiaan de Klerk will make his debut for TUKS on the lock while Danie Wessels is promoted from the bench at loosehead prop.


FNB UWC: 15 Gilroy Lee Philander, 14 Will Vraagom, 13 Aydon Topley, 12 Lyle Hendricks (c), 11 Patrick Kotze, 10 Ethan Diston, 9 Conwill Conradie, 8 Godfrey Muzanarwo, 7 Jacques Mostert, 6 Shaine Orderson, 5 Jaen-Louis de Lange, 4 Bronlee Mouries, 3 Justin Theys, 2 Mauritz Swart, 1 Keon Links. Replacements: 16 Lukhanyo Vokozela, 17 Haniel du Toit, 18 Keanuh Michaels, 19 Bradman Grove, 20 Romuald Ntumba, 21 Tandile Hoyi, 22 Jason Cloete, 23 Gino Kemp.

FNB UP-Tuks – 15 Kabelo Mokoena, 14 Pierre Fourie, 13 Zander Reynders, 12 Lincoln Daniels (c), 11 Tharquinn Manuel, 10 Clyde Lewis, 9 Bernard van der Linde, 8 Orateng Koikanyang, 7 Jacobus Smit, 6 Dian Schoonees, 5 Tiaan de Klerk, 4 Louis Meiring, 3 Francois Klopper, 2 Allister Williams, 1 Danie Wessels. Replacements: 16 Werner Fourie, 17 André van der Merwe, 18 Ethan Burger, 19 Mihlali Stamper, 20 Divan Venter, 21 Jayden Sam, 22 Keane Galant, 23 Ambesa Zenzile.