Unchanged Vodacom Bulls Starting Line-up Ready To Face DHL Stormers In URC Quarter Final


The Vodacom Bulls have made minor adjustments to the matchday 23 that will do duty against the DHL Stormers in Cape Town. The two fierce competitors will meet in the 2022/23 United Rugby Championship quarterfinal clash on Saturday, 06 May at the DHL Stadium, with kick-off set for 15:00 (SA Time).

The starting XV remains unchanged from the side that beat Leinster in the final round-robin of the competition. The only changes are on the bench with Simphiwe Matanzima and Nizaam Carr included.

The forwards’ pack remains unchanged as Gerhard Steenekamp, Johan Grobbelaar and Mornay Smith will line up in the front row with the support of Ruan Vermaak and club captain, Ruan Nortje providing cover in the second row. Marco van Staden, Cyle Brink and Elrigh Louw will add power in the back row as the pack looks to make good use of their game time together.

At the back, Embrose Papier and Johan Goosen start as the half-back pairing with Canan Moodie (right) and David Kriel (left) on the wings. Harold Vorster and Stedman Gans will combine at centre with Kurt-Lee Arendse at fullback.

Vodacom Bulls: 1. Gerhard Steenekamp, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 3. Mornay Smith, 4. Ruan Vermaak, 5. Ruan Nortje (c), 6. Marco van Staden, 7. Cyle Brink, 8. Elrigh Louw, 9. Embrose Papier, 10. Johan Goosen, 11. David Kriel, 12. Harold Vorster, 13. Stedman Gans, 14. Canan Moodie, 15. Kurt-Lee Arendse. Replacements: 16. Bismarck du Plessis, 17. Simphiwe Matanzima, 18. Francois Klopper, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Keagan Johannes, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Lionel Mapoe.