U20 Springboks – SANZAAR Confirm Schedule For Inaugural The Rugby Championship U20 Tournament


SANZAAR has announced the match schedule and venue for the inaugural The Rugby Championship (TRC) Under-20 tournament that will be played in May 2024 on the Sunshine Coast. The Championship will see the up-and-coming stars of Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa rugby do battle.

The Championship will be played at the Sunshine Coast Stadium, Bokarina on Australia’s eastern seaboard in May and will comprise a round-robin format where all teams will play each other once (see match scheule below). The top team after the three-round, six-match tournament will be declared the TRC U20 champion.

SANZAAR CEO Brendan Morris stated, “The TRC U20 Championship is an exciting investment and development strategy that will allow for a more defined pathway for younger players into senior and international rugby and provide a springboard into the annual World Rugby U20 Championship that is currently missing."

“This exposure to international matches against top quality opposition can only benefit the players in terms of experience and adapting to the demands of top level rugby. The tournament will also provide extra development opportunities for coaches, team management and match officials."

"The teams will assemble on The Sunshine Coast for three match rounds in May and for rugby fans we are pleased to announce that entry into the tournament at Sunshine Coast Stadium will be free of charge."

"SANZAAR is very much looking forward to what will be a highly competitive tournament and on behalf of SANZAAR I would like to thank the Sunshine Coast Council for its assistance in supporting this wonderful new tournament.”

The Rugby Championship U20 Match Schedule (SA Time)

02 May 2024
11:00 New Zealand vs South Africa
13:00 Australia vs Argentina

07 May 2024
11:00 New Zealand vs Argentina
13:00 Australia vs South Africa

12 May 2024
05:30 South Africa vs Argentina
07:30 Australia vs New Zeeland