U20 Rugby Championship – All Set For Sunshine Coast Kick-off


The Rugby Championship Under-20, to be played at the Sunshine Coast Stadium, Bokarina on Australia’s eastern seaboard, kicks off on Thursday 2 May. It is the inaugural Championship and the Australia U20, New Zealand U20, Junior Springboks and Los Pumitas are all in camp and training ahead of the kick-off with Southern Hemisphere supremacy up for grabs over the three match days.

The captains gathered at Point Arkwright Lookout, Coolum, today with the trophy as anticipation and excitement grows ahead of the Championship. The TRC U20 will comprise a round-robin format where all teams will play each other once (see match schedule below). The top team after the three-round, six-match tournament will be declared the TRC U20 champion.

SANZAAR CEO Brendan Morris stated, “After months of preparation and planning it is wonderful that we are now just a few days away from kick-off. The Sunshine Coast Stadium is ready to host the Championship and with free entry for the public we look forward to welcoming everyone."

"SANZAAR encourages rugby fans to support the Championship and the amazing young talent that will be on display. The three match days, all with double-headers will feature the stars of the future and perhaps the next generation of Wallabies, All Blacks, Springboks and Pumas."