Toyota Free State u/20 And Cell C Sharks u/20 In Desperate Battle




The Toyota Free State u/20 host the Cell C Sharks u/20s today at 14h00 in Bloemfontein at the Sentral High School.

Both sides have only won one game, however, the Cell C Sharks u/20s comes off a brilliant win against the Lions u/20s (61-30) which has thrown the race for a place in the finals to be played on 16 April 2022 wide open. The Toyota Fee State u/20s suffered a big loss against the current log leaders DHL Western Province u/20s (08-45) in Cape Town a week ago.

The Cell C Sharks u20s two losses came against the Vodacom Bulls u20s and DHL Western Province, both with less than a 5 points margin and on current form should be able to win all of their remaining games. Therefore, if one of the top three unions do lose another game the Cell C Sharks could find them in the title race again.

The Toyota Cheetahs u/20s have struggled throughout this competition with some of the basics of the game and the Cell C Sharks should win in Bloemfontein with relative ease.

Toyota Free State u/20 head coach Henley du Plessis made eight changes to his starting line-up.

Three changes were made at the back with Dwayne Pharo replacing Matt Golden at fullback. Adielson Gouveia is replaced at wing by J Jacobus while L Horne replaces Jacobus Jaquin on the other wing.

Wela Takata replaces Dylan Lampbrecht at the openside flank with G le Roux coming in on the other side of the scrum. A. Oosthuizen and K. Kirsten is the new lock pairing. Jan Hendrik Bessengerreturns coming in at loosehead is the last of five changes upfront.

The Cell C Sharks u/20s made only two changes to their starting line-up that defeated the Lions' u/20s with 61-30. The two new wings are M Jacobs and S Zondani

Toyota Free State u/20: 15. Dwayne Pharo, 14. J Jacobus, 13. Carl Kleynhans, 12. Emile Kotze, 11.L Horne, 10. Juan Smith, 9. Juan Dee Olivier, 8. Danston Cloete, 7.G le Roux, 6. Wela Takata, 5. A Oosthuizen, 4. K Kirsten, 3. Laurence Victor, 2. Ronaldo Ismail, 1. Jan Hendrik Bessenger. Replacements: 16. Duan Ludik, 17. R Windell, 18. Aviwe Mpepo, 19. H Potgieter, 20. L Kolisa, 21. CJ Herholdt, 22. L Valentinet, 23. C Oppelt.

Cell C Sharks u/20: 15. Hakeem Kunene, 14. Matthew Jacobs, 13. Lloyd Koster, 12. Brandon Wilkie (c), 11. S Zondani, 10. Jean Smith, 9. Bradley Davids, 8. Nick Hatton, 7. Enos Ndiao, 6. Damon Royle, 5. Corne Rahl (c), 4. Andrew Beyrooti, 3. Nash Mhere, 2. Jordan Mcloughlin, 1. Braam Reyneke. Replacements: 16. Jaques Marais, 17. Phatu Ganyane, 18. Dian Heunis, 19. Coetzee le Roux, 20. Renzo du Plessis, 21. Josh Miller, 22. Ethan Hooker, 23. B Britz