Toyota Cheetahs Win A Messy And Physical Battle Against DHL Western Province


The high-flying Toyota Cheetahs’ were in action against DHL Western Province in what can only be described as a brutal but messy battle. Two tries early in the second half secured a win for the log leaders with 24-17.

An arm-wrestle in the first 40 minutes of the game, with both teams battling to establish some sort of dominance. This basically continued for the rest of the game. However, the Cheetahs scored two tries within 6 minutes early in the second half to secure the game.

16:22 Kade Wolhuter slotted a massive 60m penalty to open Western Province's account. (00-03)

20:00 An arm wrestle in the first 20 minutes of the game as the two teams battle to establish some sort of dominance.

40:00 An arm wrestle in the first 40 minutes of the game as the two teams battle to establish some sort of dominance.

46:21 Marnus vd Merwe scored from a 5m lineout-maul with a twist. (07-03)

52:43 Jeandré Rudolph scored the Cheetahs' 2nd try from the back of a 5m lineout-maul. (14-03)

60:00 The Cheetahs got their driving maul going and were rewarded with a try every time they had a lineout close to the visitors' try-line.

67:25 Angelo Davids scored Western Province's first try, which he initiated from within his own half. (14-10)

70:27 Ruan Pienaar converted a penalty for the Cheetahs. (17-10)

71:00 Reinhardt Fortuin set away by a Frans Steyn's break to score the Cheetahs' 3rd try. (24-10)

82:27 Roelof Smit scored Western Province's second try to secure the bonus point for losing with seven or fewer points. (24-17)

Toyota Cheetahs: Tries: Marnus van der Merwe, Jeandré Rudolph, Reinhardt Fortuin. Conversions: Ruan Pienaar (3).  Penalty: Ruan Pienaar.
DHL Western Province: Try: Angelo Davids, Roelof Smit. Conversion: Kade Wolhuter (2). Penalty: Kade Wolhuter.

Cheetahs: 15. Cohen Jasper, 14. Daniel Kasende, 13. Evardi Boshoff, 12. Frans Steyn, 11. Malcolm Jaer, 10. Siya Masuku, 9. Ruan Pienaar (c), 8. Mihlali Mosi, 7. Jeandré Rudolph, 6. Gideon van der Merwe, 5. Victor Sekekete, 4. Ockie Barnard, 3. Aranos Coetzee, 2. Marnus van der Merwe, 1. Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16. Dandrè Delport, 17. Alulutho Tshakweni, 18. Marné Coetzee, 19. Sergio Moreira, 20. Andisa Ntsila, 21. Rewan Kruger, 22. Reinhardt Fortuin, 23. Rosko Specman.

Western Province: 15. Tristan Leyds, 14. Sergeal Petersen, 13. Mnombo Zwelendaba, 12. Cornel Smit, 11. Angelo Davids, 10. Kade Wolhuter, 9. Thomas Bursey, 8. Keke Morabe, 7. Marcel Theunissen, 6. Nama Xaba (c), 5. Ben-Jason Dixon, 4. Connor Evans, 3. Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, 2. JJ Kotze, 1. Kwenzo Blose. Replacements: 16. Lukhanyo Vokozela, 17. Leon Lyons, 18. Corne Weilbach, 19. Simon Miller, 20. Roelof Smit, 21. Godlen Masimla, 22. Timothy Swiel, 23. Rikus Pretorius.