Toyota Cheetahs Sneak Into EPCR Top 16 Playoffs With Close Win Against Section Paloise


The Toyota Cheetahs hosted Section Paloise in a crucial encounter and converted a penalty with the time already up on the clock to win 09-06 and secure their place in the EPCR top 16 playoffs.

Pau dominated the early exchanges of the match, however, the Toyota Cheetahs clawed their way back into the match with possession and territory almost 50/50. After 20 minutes of play, there were no points scored.

Both teams struggled to take their opportunities during the match resulting in a very stop-start match. However, an interesting brutal battle up front. A converted penalty was scored by each team to go into the second half level at 03-03.

Section Paloise started to dominate in the third quarter and controlled territory and possession 60%-40%. The penalty count also advanced Section Paloise as the Toyota Cheetahs conceded 13 penalties to 7. Section Paloise added a converted penalty early in the second half to lead 06-03 and 20 minutes to play.

The Toyota Cheetahs upped the tempo of play and started to ask questions from the defenders of Section Paloise, however, mistakes at crucial moments cost them several scoring opportunities. A penalty converted by the Toyota Cheetahs after time was already up sealed the win and place in the EPCR top 16 playoffs.

Toyota Cheetahs: Penalties: Siya Masuku (3).
Section Paloise: Penalties: Thibault Debaes (2).

As it Happened:
23:05 Siya Masuku converted a penalty for the Toyota Cheetahs. (03-00)
29:28 Thibault Debaes converted a penalty for the Section Paloise. (03-03)
37:00 Jeandré Rudolph (Toyota Cheetahs) was sent off with a yellow card.
44:33 Thibault Debaes converted a penalty for the Section Paloise. (03-06)
65:37 Siya Masuku converted a penalty for the Toyota Cheetahs. (06-06)
81:39 Siya Masuku converted a penalty for the Toyota Cheetahs. (09-06)


Toyota Cheetahs: 15. Tapiwa Mafura, 14. Daniel Kasende, 13. David Brits, 12. Robert Ebersohn, 11. Munier Hartzenberg, 10. Siya Masuku, 9. Rewan Kruger, 8. Jeandré Rudolph, 7. Friedle Olivier, 6. Daniel Maartens, 5. Victor Sekekete (c), 4. Rynier Bernardo, 3. Aranos Coetzee, 2. Louis van der Westhuizen, 1. Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Alulutho Tshakweni, 18 Hencus van Wyk, 19 Mzwanele Zito, 20 Roelof Smit, 21 Branden de Kock, 22 Evardi Boshoff, 23 Andell Loubser.

Section Paloise: 15 Théo Attissogbe, 14 Clément Laporte, 13 Yvan Reilhac, 12 Nathan Decron, 11 Daniel Ikpefan, 10 Thibault Debaes, 9 Clovis Lebail, 8 Jordan Joseph, 7 Martin Puech (c), 6 Sacha Zegueur, 5 Mickael Capelli, 4 Guillaume Ducat, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Romain Ruffenach, 1 Ignacio Calles. Replacements: 16 Lucas Rey, 17 Rémi Seneca, 18 Guram Papidze, 19 Lekima Tagitagivalu, 20 Thibaut Hamonou, 21 Reece Hewat, 22 Dan Robson, 23 Tumua Manu.