Toyota Cheetahs Name Line-up For First EPCR Challenge Cup Clash


The Toyota Cheetahs will be playing their first EPCR Challenge Cup match against Zebre Parma on Saturday, 09 December 2023 at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi, Parma, Italy. Kick-off is at 15:00 (SA Time).

The hosts returned home after a two-week tour of South Africa in the Vodacom URC, where they suffered defeats against the Emirates Lions and DHL Stormers.

This, combined with the match marking Toyota Cheetahs’ first official top-class match of the new season, will add pressure on both sides to register a victory.

Two of the Toyota Cheetahs players that were on loan with Osprey’s rugby, Marnus van der Merwe and Rewan Kruger have re-united with the team in Italy and looking forward to getting it on with the team.

Coach Hawies Fourie said: “We are happy with the squad, as we have said, most players played in the EPCR Challenge Cup last year, they know the conditions, they know what to expect and we have prepared over the last months.

“We would like to go one step further, last year we reached the round of 16 but now want to go to the quarter-finals, the whole squad would agree and see what we can do but we will take it one day at a time.”

Captain Victor Sekekete said: “I think having played there for us and staying there has helped us a lot as some players, so we know what we are going to face when we get there at what conditions we are going to face. Starting the EPCR Challenge Cup like that is very fortunate for us and looking forward to getting on with it.

“We are going to focus on the games that they played at home because that’s the conditions we are going to face, and that’s how they are going to be because I think they have confidence playing at home. We are ready to take on the challenge.”

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Tapiwa Mafura, 14 Siba Xamlashe, 13 Evardi Boshoff, 12 Reinhardt Fortuin, 11 Cohen Jasper, 10 George Lourens, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Jeandrè Rudolph, 7 Friedle Olivier, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Rynier Bernardo, 3 Laurence Victor, 2 Marnus van der Merwe, 1 Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Alulutho Tshakweni, 18 Hencus van Wyk, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Daniel Maartens, 21 Sibabalo Qoma, 22 Rewan Kruger, 23 Ali Mgijima