Toyota Cheetahs Hold On For Brilliant Win In Bloemfontein

Photo Credit: Gallo Images

The Toyota Cheetahs hosted the Vodacom Blue Bulls in Bloemfontein for the first match of the second round of the Vodacom Super Rugby competition. The Cheetahs hung on for a yet another memorable win with 19-17 over the Bulls in Bloemfontein.

The first ten minutes of the game was like watching a chess game with both players dressed in two sizes too small T Shirts with plenty of tattoos. The Bulls as expected kept it close while the Cheetahs looked to move the ball wide as soon as the opportunity presented itself.

The Cheetahs scored the first point of the match after a converted penalty. However, Ruan Pienaar left the field with an injury as the result of a Marco van Staden tackle that resulted in the penalty against the Bulls.

A converted penalty by Morne Steyn from the Bulls was immediately replied to with a converted try by Roscoe Specman of the Cheetahs that returned the lead to the Cheetahs with 10-3 and fourteen minutes to go in the first half.

As the first half continued, the Bulls started to wrestle the momentum away from the Cheetahs. A further penalty converted by the Cheetahs gave them a 13-3 lead at half time but the Bulls in "control" on the field while the Cheetahs feasted on the mistakes of the Bulls under pressure.

Whereas the Bulls opted to not convert penalties when on offer, the Cheetahs were happy to extend their lead at every opportunity. The Cheetahs lead 19-6 with 20 minutes to go. 

The Bulls realised the importance of points, in the last quarter and added 6 points via penalties to their score. This narrowed the gap to 19-12 in the favour of the Cheetahs and five minutes to go.

A try by the Bulls by Joe v Zyl was almost enough to level the score, unfortunately, the conversion was missed and left the Bulls a lot to do in 1 minute.

Toyota Cheetahs: Try: Roscoe Specman. Conversion: Tian Schoeman. Penalty: Tian Schoeman (4).
Vodacom Blue Bulls: Try: Joe v Zyl. Penalty: Morne Steyn (3), Chris Smit.

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar (captain), 8 Jasper Wiese, 7 Junior Pokomela, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Carl Wegner, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais. Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Erich de Jager, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Chris Massyn, 22 Tian Meyer, 23 William Small-Smith.

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Gio Aplon, 14 David Kriel, 13 Cornal Hendricks, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Jade Stighling, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Jacques van Rooyen. Replacements: 16 Joe van Zyl, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Stedman Gans.