Toyota Cheetahs Edge Pau In Challenge Cup


The Toyota Cheetahs made their long-awaited return to international club rugby when edged Section Paloise at the Stade du Hameau in Pau, France 21-16.

The match started slowly, with neither team really firing in attack, Clément Mondinat kicking Pau into a lead in the first five minutes, before Ruan Pienaar responded with a penalty of his own.

Two further Mondinat kicks gave Pau a half-time lead of 09-03 but neither side will have been happy with their first-half displays.

But the second half was a completely different story, as Daniel Maartens went over for Toyota Cheetahs to give them a 10-9 lead.

It sparked the home side into life and a Rémi Sénéca score restored their lead, which they kept despite powerful flanker Oupa Mohojé charging over, as Pienaar pushed the conversion an inch wide.

But Pienaar kicked Toyota Cheetahs back into the lead before being substituted, and flyhalf Siya Masuku kicked another penalty goal to give them the victory as the hosts' ill discipline ultimately cost them the win.

Section Paloise: Try: Rémi Seneca. Conversion: Thibault Daubagna. Penalties: Clément Mondinat (3).
Toyota Cheetahs: Tries: Daniel Maartens, Oupa Mohoje. Conversion: Ruan Pienaar. Penalties: Ruan Pienaar (2), Siya Masuku.


Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Frans Steyn, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 David Brits, 12 Reinhardt Fortuin, 11 Tapiwa Mafura, 10 Siya Masuku, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Friedle Olivier, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Jeandrè Rudolph, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Schalk Ferreira. Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Hencus van Wyk, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Sibabalo Qoma, 21 Daniel Maartens, 22 Rewan Kruger, 23 Robert Ebersohn.

Section Paloise: 15. Clément Mondinat, 14. Eoghan Barrett, 13. Yvan Reilhac, 12. Jale Vatubua, 11. Vincent Pinto, 10. Thibault Debaes, 9. Clovis Lebail, 8. Sacha Zegueur, 7. Thibaut Hamonou, 6. Martin Puech, 5. Jimi Maximin, 4. Hugo Auradou, 3. Nicolas Corato, 2. Lucas Rey (c), 1. Rémi Seneca. Replacements: 16. Youri Delhommel, 17. Siegfried Fisiihoi, 18. Nicolaas van Dyk, 19 Mickael Capelli, 20. Reece Hewat, 21. Thibault Daubagna, 22. Elliot Roudil, 23. Mathias Colombet.