Three Teams Still Unbeaten In 2023 Currie Cup Premier Division


DHL Western Province, the Airlink Pumas and Toyota Cheetahs all maintained their winning form in the second round of the Currie Cup Premier Division, while there was a first win of the campaign for the Windhoek Draught Griquas in Kimberley.

Meanwhile, the Fidelity ADT Lions, Vodacom Bulls and NovaVit Griffons remain winless.

Holders Airlink Pumas needed a last-gasp try from centre Diego Appollis to clinch a thrilling 34-27 win over the Fidelity ADT Lions in Nelspruit on Friday afternoon. In the evening fixture on Friday staged in Pretoria, DHL Western Province prevailed 41-33 over arch-rivals Vodacom Bulls in their North-South derby at Loftus Versfeld.

On Sunday, the Toyota Cheetahs came out tops in the battle of the Free State when they toppled provincial neighbours NovaVit Griffons 52-12 in Welkom. In the weekend’s last match, Windhoek Draught Griquas produced an outstanding second-half display to outplay Cell C Sharks 48-40 in Kimberley for their first win of the campaign.

After two rounds, three teams are tied on 10 log points apiece, with the Toyota Cheetahs leading due to their superior points difference, followed by the Airlink Pumas and DHL WP. The leading trio are followed by Cell C Sharks on six points, Windhoek Draught Griquas (five points), Fidelity ADT Lions (three points), Vodacom Bulls (one point) and the NovaVit Griffons, who are yet to register a log point.

In this coming weekend’s third-round action, three of the four games will be staged on Friday and the remaining one on Saturday.

The Fidelity ADT Lions and NovaVit Griffons will get the third-round action underway at 15h00 in Johannesburg and that game is followed by a clash in Bloemfontein between the Toyota Cheetahs and Vodacom Bulls (17h00). Friday evening’s last match takes place in the Mbombela Stadium, where the Airlink Pumas entertain Windhoek Draught Griquas (19h00).

On Saturday, the Cell C Sharks and DHL WP will round off the weekend’s action with a coastal derby that is scheduled to start at 14h00 in Durban.