The Cheetahs Face An Uphill Battle Against Griquas

Photo Credit: Gallo Images

Saturday’s second fixture sees the Toyota Cheetahs host Tafel Lager Griquas in a Central Derby from 16h30 in Bloemfontein, where another enthralling encounter is expected between the two neighbouring teams.

A win by the Cheetahs will move them to the fourth spot on the championship log while the Griquas are still looking for their first win of the season. A win for Griquas could also see them overtake the Pumas on the championship log.

The Toyota Cheetahs team for their final Vodacom Super Rugby Unlocked match, against Tafel Lager Griquas in Bloemfontein on Saturday afternoon, show a number of changes.

In the backline, Rhyno Smith comes in at right-wing, while Howard Mnisi is entrusted with the No 13 jersey.

There are also three changes upfront for the Free State outfit, with Hencus van Wyk (tighthead prop) set to make his full debut in place of former Junior Springbok prop Luan de Bruin, while Boan Venter and Charles Marais swap places at loosehead.

Earlier today, Toyota Cheetahs captain Junior Pokomela was ruled out due to injury, with former Southern Kings skipper Aidon Davids taking over at flank. Carl Wegner takes over the Free Staters’ captaincy and Chris Massyn has been included on the bench.

The only tweak to Tafel Lager Griquas' starting side, that came so close to a victory last week against the Cell C Sharks, is at No 8 where Carl Els comes in for Johan Momsen.

There is also one change on the extended replacements bench, with André Swarts coming in for utility back Ashlon Davids.

The teams:

Toyota Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Rhyno Smith, 13 Howard Mnisi, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Aidon Davis, 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Carl Wegner (captain), 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Hencus van Wyk, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Boan Venter. Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Cameron Dawson, 18 Khutha Mchunu, 19 Oupa Mohoje, 20 Chris Massyn, 21 Ruben de Haas, 22 Reinhardt Fortuin, 23 William Small-Smith.

Tafel Lager Griquas: 15 Masixole Banda, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Harlon Klaasen, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger, 8 Carl Els, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Cameron Lindsay, 4 Adré Smith, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli. Replacements (from): Monde Hadebe, Andrew Beerwinkel, Madot Mabokela, Ewan Coetzee, CJ Velleman, Theo Maree, André Swarts, Daniel Kasende, Bandisa Ndlovu, Sibabalo Qoma, Ashlon Davids.