The Reds Secure Second Spot After A brilliant Defensive Effort Against The Rebels

The Queensland Reds and Rebels played in the last Vodafone Super Rugby AU clash for the weekend at the Suncorp Stadium where the Reds moved up to the second place on the Super Rugby AU competition log after a brilliant 19-3, bonus-point win.

It took the Reds fourteen minutes to score the first try of the match to lead 7-3. The Reds at that stage enjoyed 73% of territorial advantage dominating the Rebels.

The second quarter saw a lot of aimless kicking with both sides struggling to break the defence of the opposing team. Another aimless kick combined with poor defence from the Rebels resulted in the second try for the Reds to stretch their lead to 14-3. The Rebels managed to claw back some possession with the stats at the end of the first half indicating a very even game on the field of play. The Reds still 14-3 ahead at the end of the first half.

The Rebels controlled territory and possession for most of the third quarter but were unable to add any points to the scoreboard. The Reds hung on to still lead 14-3 after 60 minutes of play.

The Rebels controlled everything on the field for a good thirty minutes but could not convert their dominance into points. The Reds had a touch of the ball in the seventy-third minute and added five points to their lead to put the result beyond any doubt. A forty-minute heroic defensive effort gave the Reds a deserved win with 19-3.

The Reds will face the Western Force next weekend while the Rebels will have a bye.

Rebels: Penalty: Matt To'omua.
Reds: Try: Jordan Petaia, Brandon Paenga-Amosa, Jock Campbell. Conversion: James O'Connor (2).

Reds: 1. Jack Straker, 2. Brandon Paenga-Amosa, 3. Taniela Tupou, 4. Angus Blyth, 5. Lukhan Salakaia-Loto, 6. Liam Wright (c), 7. Fraser McReight, 8. Harry Wilson, 9. Tate McDermott, 10. James O'Connor, 11. Filipo Daugunu, 12. Hamish Stewart, 13. Hunter Paisami, 14. Jordan Petaia, 15. Jock Campbell. Replacements: 16. Alex Mafi, 17. Jethro Felemi, 18. Zane Nonggor, 19. Tuaina Tali Tualima, 20. Angus Scott-Young, 21. Scott Malolua, 22. Bryce Hegarty, 23. Josh Flook.

Rebels: 1. Cameron Orr, 2. Jordan Uelese, 3. Pone Fa'amausili, 4. Matt Philip, 5. Trevor Hosea, 6. Josh Kemeny, 7. Brad Wilkin, 8. Isi Naisarani, 9. Frank Lomani, 10. Andrew Deegan, 11. Marika Koroibete, 12. Matt To'omua (c), 13. Campbell Magnay, 14. Andrew Kellaway, 15. Reece Hodge. Replacements: 16. Efitusi Maafu, 17. Cabous Eloff, 18. Charles Abel, 19. Esei Ha'angana, 20. Michael Wells, 21. Richard Hardwick, 22. James Tuttle, 23. Billy Meakes.