The Bulls With Convincing Win Over Sharks

Photo by Gallo Images

Jake Whites Bulls did exactly what was expected by them to score a comprehensive 42-28 win at Loftus.

The Sharks looked like a time that played their first game in 4 months while Blue Bulls coach should be happy with his team first-half performance as the shut out the Sharks in an impressive first half.

The foundation of the win was already laid in the first half when the Bulls forwards dominated their opponents. The Bulls outscored the Sharks by 5 tries to 1 in the first half with the Sharks who scored their only try in the 43rd minute of the first half. 

It took the Bulls only seven minutes to score their first try. Two of the Bulls' tries was scored after mistakes by the Sharks of defence while the others came from well-structured play.

The Bulls dominated most of the play in the first half with the Sharks who only got their hands on some quality ball after 30 minutes of play. The Bulls backs enjoying themselves with the quality balls their forwards supplied while the Sharks needed their forwards to step up in the second half if they want to stop the Bulls from running away with the game.

The Bulls deservedly leading 35-07 at half time.

The Sharks struggled in the first 15 minutes of the second half and several penalties during this period cost them a lot of momentum. 

The Bulls changed almost their full bench with 25 minutes to go, which gave the Sharks some much-needed momentum. With 20 minutes to go the Bulls lead was reduced to 14 points (42-28) as the Sharks scored three tries to the one of the Bulls.

The last 20 minutes degraded quite a bit with the Bulls hanging on to secure an impressive 49-28 win.


Blue Bulls: Tries: Schalk Erasmus, Stedman Gans, Kurt-Lee Arendse (2), Travis Ismaiel, David Kriel (2). Conversions: Morne Steyn (5), Chris Smith.
Sharks: Tries:
Grant Williams, Marius Louw, Dan Jooste, Jaden Hendrikse. Conversions:  Curwin Bosch (2), Jordan Chait (2).


Bulls – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 Travis Ismaiel, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen (c), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Jason Jenkins, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Schalk Erasmus, 1 Jacques van Rooyen. Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Juandre Kruger, 20 Tim Agaba, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Jade Stighling, 24 Clinton Swart, 25 David Kriel, 26 Sintu Manjezi, 27 Muller Uys, 28 Marco Jansen van Vurren, 29 Nizaam Carr, 30 Stravino Jacobs.

Sharks – 15 Manie Libbok, 14 Werner Kok, 13 Lukhanyo Am (c), 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Muller du Plessis, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Celimpilo Gumede, 6 Evan Roos, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Dylan Richardson, 1 Ox Nche. Replacements: 16 Dan Jooste, 17, Mzamo Majola, 18 Joh-Hubert Meyer, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Emile van Heerden, 21 Adam Mountford, 22 Tera Mtembu, 23 Phepsi Buthelezi, 24 Jaden Hendrikse, 25 Jordan Chait, 26 Caleb Dingaan, 27 Marius Louw, 28 JP Pietersen, 29 Grant Williams, 30 Thaakir Abrahams.

Recent Posts