The Bulls Only Team Left Without A Win

Photo by Jorina Raath/

Warrrick Gelant stepped onto the field playing his 50th game, but it took only five minutes before the try of Emiliano Boffelli brought an end to the early celebrations. 

The Bulls however, did not hold back and replied with some brilliant team play that sent Marco van Staden over the try line.

A misunderstanding on the Bulls side created an easy opportunity for Rodrigo Bruni to allow the Jaguares to take the lead again, but with less than seven minutes before halftime, Warrick Gelant scored in the corner.

The Bulls were already preparing for the halftime break when Marcos Kremer and Matias Moroni replied with two quick successive tries, allowing the teams to leave the field with a halftime score of 24-14 in favour of the Jaguares.

The Bulls returned the second half with the ambition to step up on their first-half performance and within the first four minutes, Rosco Specman showed some 7s talent and open the defence of the Jaguares to sent Cornal Hendricks into the corner. 

Again it only took a few minutes and a yellow card for Johnny Kotze that opened the door for Emiliano Boffelli to get his second try. 

In what was a must-win game for the Bulls, their lack of discipline caught up to them and the penalty score was the only one the Bulls manage to lead throughout the game.

Final score: 39 - 24 in favour of the Jaguares 

Vodacom Bulls: Tries: Marco van Staden, Warrick Gelant, Cornal Hendrick. Conversions: Morne Steyn (3). Penalty: Morne Steyn.

Jaguares: Tries: Emiliano Boffelli (2), Rodrigo Brun, Marcos Kremer, Matias Moron, Emiliano Boffell. Conversions: Joaquin Diaz Bonilla (3). Penalties: Joaquin Diaz Bonilla

The teams:

Vodacom Bulls: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Nafi Tuitavake, 12 Johnny Kotze, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Jeandré Rudolph, 7 Josh Strauss, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Trevor Nyakane (captain), 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Lizo Gqoboka. Replacements: 16 Corniel Els, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Ruan Nortje, 20 Ruan Steenkamp, 21 Ivan van Zyl, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Divan Rossouw.

 Jaguares: 15 Santiago Carreras, 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Matias Moroni, 12 Jeronimo de la Fuente (captain), 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Rodrigo Bruni, 7 Tomas Lezana, 6 Francisco Gorrissen, 5 Marcos Kremer, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Joel Sclavi, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro. Replacements: 16 Santiago Socino, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Santiago Medrano, 19 Lucas Paulos, 20 Bautista Pedemonte, 21 Domingo Miotti, 22 Juan Cruz Mallia, 23 Santiago Chocobares.

Article by: Adriaan Adams