The Blitzboks Bullied Into A Draw Against USA 7s


The Blitzboks disappointed in their 26-26 draw against the USA 7s showing an unfortunate lack of commitment against the tall players of the USA 7's

The Blitzboks opened a 19-00 lead after just three minutes of play. The USA responded in style with two tries of their own during the last four minutes of the first half, exposing the Blitzboks' inability to cope with the attacks of the bigger boys. The Blitzboks led 19-14 at the end of the first half. The lack of willingness on defence let the USA 7s back into the game in the second half with the USA 7s levelling the score with seconds left on the clock.

The Blitzboks started like a house on fire when they controlled two grubbers in quick succession to score two tries within the first two minutes of the match. Immediately thereafter Dewald Human took a quick tap five meters from the tryline of the USA 7s and scored the Blitzboks' third try to lead 19-00 after only three minutes of play.

However, the USA used their bulk and speed to score from the kickoff with the Blitzboks' defence struggling against the big players of the USA 7's. The USA 7s ended the first half with their second try of the match to trail 14-19 going into the second half.

Mfundo Ndhlovu breaks tackles by the USA and ran fifty meters to score the Blitzboks fourth try, extending their lead to 26-14 and five minutes to play.

The USA, however, were next to score a try after creating an overlap and running in out wide for their third try. Hapless defence by the Blitzboks made it easy for the USA 7s to score the equaliser with fourty seconds to go. The USA7s were unlucky to draw 26-26.

USA 7s: Tries: Kevon Williams (2), Lucas Lacamp, Pita Vi. Conversions: Steve Tomasin (3).
Blitzboks: Tries: Christi Grobbelaar, Shilton van Wyk, Dewald Human, Mfundo Ndhlovu. Conversions: Ricardo Duarttee (3).


Blitzboks: Ryan Oosthuizen, James Murphy, Christie Grobbelaar, Justin Geduld, Dewald Human, Shilton van Wyk, Ricardo Duarttee. Replacements: Siviwe Soyizwapi, Mfundo Ndhlovu, Ronald Brown, Shaun Williams, Travis Ismaiel.

USA 7s: Steve Tomasin, Joe Schroeder, Aaron Cummings, Kevon Williams, Faitala Talapusi, Malacchi Esdale, Lucas Lacamp. Replacements: Maka Unufe, Marcus Tupuola, Jack Wendling, Pita Vi, Ryan Santos.