The Battle Of Unbeaten u/20s In SA Rugby Cup At Emirates Airline Park


The Lions u/20s will host the Cell C Sharks u/20s on Friday at 13:00 (SA Time) in a Round 4 SA Rugby u/20 Cup clash at Emirates Airline Park.

This is a vital match for both sides looking to maintain their unbeaten status. A loss will open the door wide for the Vodacom Bulls u/20s and Toyota Cheetahs to qualify for the final scheduled for 06 April 2023.

After dispatching of the Blue Bulls u/20s with a 29-7 win at Hollywoodbets Kings Park last weekend, the Cell C Sharks u/20s added another big scalp to their tally, having beaten DHL Western Province in their opening game. The Cell C Sharks u/20s have one game in hand having played only two matches up to date and is in placed third on the SA Rugby u/20 Cup log.

Back-to-back victories over last year’s pair of finalists are no mean feat and underline just how well this Cell C Sharks junior side has prepared, and how that has translated into success on the field under coach JP Pietersen. The Cell C Sharks u/20s

Pietersen has kept faith in the players who performed so well against the Bulls u/20s and has stuck with the belief that ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’, keeping the same matchday 23 as last week without any changes.

The Lions u/20s have defeated Western Province u/20s, the Leopards u/20s and Valke u/20s in their three games to date and with 14 log points, sit on top of the log.

The only change to the Lions u/20s starting lineup is at the tighthead where RF Schoeman is promoted from the bench, replacing Stian de Bruyn who drops to the bench.


Cell C Sharks u/20: 15. PJ Venter, 14. Themba Sibisi, 13. Ryan Manuel, 12. Ethan Hooker (c), 11. Banie Britz, 10. Jean Smith, 9. Michael Koch, 8. Jannes Potgieter, 7. Meno Barnard, 6. Khuma Nkutha, 5. Luca Ribbens, 4. Coetzee Le Roux, 3. Dian Heunis, 2. Bryce Calvert, 1. Phathu Ganyane. Replacements: 16. Marnus Winter, 17. Dylan Willis, 18. Ulrich Walker, 19. Thomas Dyer, 20. Alethwa Buthelezi, 21. Christian Els, 22. Stehan Heymans, 23. Jurenzo Julius.

Lions u/20: 15. Janeil Losper, 14. Asemahle Nongogo, 13. Kelly Mpeku, 12. Bronson Mills, 11. Keagan Smith, 10. Sam Francis, 9. Layton Horn, 8. Thabang Mphafi, 7. Christopher Sjoblom, 6. Sibabalwe Mahashe, 5. Daniel Botha, 4. Tiaan Wessels, 3. RF Schoeman, 2. Marno Grobbelaar, 1. S J Kotze (c). Replacements: 16. Riaan Swart, 17. Stian de Bruyn, 18. Liam Whitehead, 19. Luan Taylor, 20. Willen de Waal, 21. Aiden Muller, 22. Thurlon Williams, 23. Shah-Jehaan De Jongh.