Stuttering DHL Stormers Disappointed Against Glasgow Warriors


It was a tough match for the DHL Stormers in the third round of the Vodacom United Rugby Championship. Unforced mistakes by the Stormers eventually cost the visitors a much-needed win against Glasgow Warriors who deservedly won 20-09.

Glasgow was the dominant team in the first half and deservedly led 20-09 at the end of the first half, however, two yellow cards to the Stormers within 1 minute of play will see the Stormers starting the second half with only 13 players. The second half was scoreless and ended in a deserved win for Glasgow.

Glasgow made a dominant start and was kept from scoring by sometimes desperate defence by the Stormers. However, it was Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu who converted a penalty after 20 minutes of play in the first half to open the Stormers' account on the scoreboard.

Glasgow kept up the pressure and after setting up camp in the Stormers' 22m, Sione Tuipulotu cut through some hapless defence by the Stormers' backline to score the first try of the match. Glasgow led 07-03 after 25 minutes of play in the first half.

Two minutes later Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu converted a second penalty.

Glasgow scored their second try from the back of a 5m lineout-maul hooker Johnny Matthews barged his way over the tryline to extend Glasgow's lead to 12-06.

Glasgow was like a runaway train at that stage, and a silly penalty conceded by the Stormers was converted by George Horne to extend their lead to 15-06 with 6 minutes left to play in the first half.

Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu, who had a horrible evening being directly the source of both Glasgow's tries, converted a 3rd penalty.

With the time already up on the clock Johnny Matthews scored his second try of the match from the back of a 5m lineout-maul to extend Glasgow's lead to 20-09 going into the halftime break.

A much-improved effort on the defence by the Stormers kept Glasgow from scoring in the second half. Glasgow was the deserved winner by 20-09.

Glasgow Warriors: Tries: Sione Tuipulotu, Johnny Matthews (2). Conversion: George Horne. Penalty: George Horne.
DHL Stormers: Penalties: Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu (3).