Strong Vodacom Bulls Side Named To Face Sigma Lions


Vodacom Bulls director of rugby, Jake White, has selected a strong side that will face the Sigma Lions on their return to action in the Carling Currie Cup on Sunday, July 25.

New Vodacom Bulls recruit, Lionel Mapoe, will make his first appearance for the Tshwane-based side when they take to the field at Loftus Versfeld.

The Springbok centre will combine with Harold Vorster in the midfield as Cornal Hendricks makes a shift to a familiar position at right wing.

Johan Goosen, who turned out for the first time in the blue strip last weekend in the match against the South African ‘A’ side, will make his official debut for the Vodacom Bulls in the Carling Currie Cup with a starting berth in the No10 jersey.

An exciting and talented loose-forward trio of Elrigh Louw at No8 alongside captain Marcell Coetzee and Muller Uys will be a combination worth watching out for.

An inspiring addition to the bench of the Vodacom Bulls is that of young Sibongile Novuka, a star for the UKZN Impi in the recent FNB Varsity Shield competition.

White said: “We are looking forward to get back to action in the Carling Currie Cup, especially against a quality outfit such as the Sigma Lions – a team that always pitches up to produce an enthralling Jukskei derby.”

He added: “Of course, to be able to select players like Lionel Mapoe and Johan Goosen, whom we have no doubt will add value top this team, is something we particularly look forward to. Further to that, we have youngsters like Sibongile Novuka, who caught our eye with his stellar performances in the Varsity Shield, to add their youthful exuberance. We can surely expect nothing less than a superb battle between two determined sides on Sunday.”

Vodacom Bulls: 15. David Kriel, 14. Cornal Hendricks, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Harold Vorster, 11. Richard Kriel, 10. Johan Goosen, 9. Zak Burger, 8. Elrigh Louw, 7. Muller Uys, 6. Marcell Coetzee (Capt), 5. Ruan Nortje, 4. Walt Steenkamp, 3. Jacques van Rooyen, 2. Johan Grobbelaar, 1. Simphiwe Matanzima. Replacements: 16. Schalk Erasmus, 17. Gerhard Steenekamp, 18. Mornay Smith, 19. Janko Swanepoel, 20. Nizaam Carr, 21. Keagan Johannes, 22. Chris Smith, 23. Sibongile Novuka, 24. Jan-Hendrik Wessel, 25. Ruan Delport, 26. Johan Mulder, 27. FC du Plessis.