SSL Festival – Match #4 – Paarl Boishaai 1stXV vs Helpmekaar 1stXV – Noord/Suid 2019

The fourth match of the 2020 School Sports Live festival between Paarl Boishaai and Helpmekaar at the 2019 Noord/Suid Festival hosted at Garsfontein will be screened "live" this afternoon at 17h00. You can follow the action on SSL channel.

Helpmekaar came into this match unbeaten and in good form after two great wins against Voortrekker Bethlehem (38-15) and Waterkloof (45-31) and showed that they possess of a great pack of forwards with blistering pace at the back. Paarl Boishaai was said to be not as good as previous years but only lost to Grey College and Paarl Gim later in the year. Helpmekaar certainly had good reason to believe that they could just pull off this win.

Helpmekaar certainly "deserved" a lead at the end of the first half but the kicking boot of Kian Meadon and Helpmekaar gifting penalties cost them. The result could have been a lot different if only, bu if only is not reflected on the scoreboard.

Paarl Boishaai: 15. Riss du Plessis, 14. Rickus Jonck, 13. Quan Horn, 12. Tyler Bocks, 11. Javier Farmer, 10. Kian Meadon, 9. Wian vd Sandt, 8. Gideon v Wyk, 7. Eon vs Berg, 6. Stass Nel, 5. Neil Venter, 4. Evan Roode, 3. Sebastian Lombaard, 2. Alister Williams, 1. Rhynardt Rijnsburger. Replacements: 16. Delmoor Degenaar, 17. Abraham Reyneke, 18. Dennis Hohls, 19. Jade Hendricks, 20. Andre Bester, 21. Keenan Barnard, 22. Le Roux Booysen, 23. Angelo Osch.

With four representative teams announced by Western Province not many players were not chosen. Tyler Bocks, Quan Horn, Angelo Osch, Rhynhardt Rijnsburger, Jacques Rousseau, Gideon Van Wyk and Allister Williams were selected in the u/18 Craven Week Squad. Stephan du Toit, Javier Farmer, Kian Meadon and Stass Nel was selected for the Craven Week XV. Delmar Degenaar, Jade Hendrick, Sebastian Lombard and Benjohan Snijman was selected for the u/18 Academy squad.

Tyler Bocks, Kean Meadon and Gideon van Wyk were selected for the SA Schools team while Jacques Rossouw, Quan Horn and Rynhardt Rijnsburger were selected for the SA Schools "A" team. A lot of these boys were contracted at the various unions.

Helpmekaar: 15. Joshua Jooste, 14. Divan Esterhuizen, 13. Melbirt vd Spuy, 12. Frans Weideman, 11. Christiaan Bezuidenhot, 10. Tiaan Botes, 9. Kuene Kirkham, 8. Zander du Toit, 7. Tyler Skudder, 6. Ruan Nortje, 5. Marx Brink, 4. Jean Slabbert, 3. Luke Underhay, 2. Ricardo vd Merwe, 1. Brandon Bouwer.

Tyler Skudder, Zander du Toit and Tiaan Botes were selected for the Golden Lions Craven Week squad. Sebastine Watney, Frans Weideman, Melbirt van der Spuy and Ruan Nortje were selected for the Golden Lions XV who also attended the Craven Week. Michael Jonker, Keune Kirkham and Jean Slabbert were selected for the Golden Lions Academy team.

A lot of these boys selected were still u/17 but Tiaan Botes was contracted by the Southern Kings and is currently in their Pro14 squad.