SSL Festival – Match #1 – Grey College u/16 vs Paarl Gim u/16 – 2019 Paarl Gim Festival


The second match of the 2020 School Sports Live festival will be screened "live" this afternoon at 19h00. You can follow the action on SSL channel.

The last match on the first day was between Grey College and Paarl Gimnasium u/16's. Three points separated the two teams at the halftime break. No points were scored in the second half until five minutes before the final whistle when a converted try sealed a win with four points. 

Paarl Gim Squad: 15. Ferdi Labuschagne, 14. Adriaan Joubert, 13. CP Kleynhans, 12. Luke van Dalen, 11. Jade Filanie, 10. Corné Swart, 9. Michael Koch, 8. Pierre van Staden, 7. Kyle Valentine, 6. Marcus Janse v Vuuren, 5. Joe du Toit, 4. Corné Beets, 3. Frankie dos Reis, 2. Johan Lombaard, 1. Jack Haynes. Replacements: 16. Hanno Husselman, 17. Reinardt vd Westhuizen, 18. Nicholaas Schutte, 19. Janno Buys, 20. Jan-Pagel Hanekom, 21. JE Ellis.

Michael Koch and Jack Haynes were the players of this squad that made the u/16 Grant Khomo Squad in 2019 with Corné Lavagna and Michael Koch who did not attend the festival but were also selected to the Grank Khomo Squad.

Corne Swart, Michael Koch and Johan Lombaard was part of the squad that played at the Afgri Prestige Rugby Day at Loftus two weeks ago with Corne Swart also making our team of the day.

Grey College Squad: 15. Marco Botha, 14. Charlton Mettler, 13. Gert Steyn, 12. Reagan Izaks, 11. Diego Lottering, 10. Jean Smith, 9. CJ Herholdt, 8. Neels Volschenk, 7. Herman Neethling, 6. Ferdi Vergontini, 5. Deleon Dernardu, 4. Kristof du Randt, 3. Johan Louw, 2. Hendrick de Lange, 1. Dillon Coetzee. Replacements: 16. Juan Else, 17. Sebastiaan Meyer, 18. Eddi Niewoudt, 19. Dirco Lourens, 20. Dian vd Walt, 21. Tiaan van Wyk, 22. Jurie Geldenhuys, 23. Lemo Leballo.

Twenty of this squad made the 2019 Free State Grant Khomo team with Gert Steyn, Jean Smith and Juan Else who already represented Grey College's 1stXV this year.